One More Day in Key West . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
May 29th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

At long last, I am only another week from home! This contract has not been my longest, but it has certainly felt that way! My replacement arrives in another 2 days for our handover, so this is my final cruise on my own. Excellent.

Because of the swine flu, our itinerary that would normally take us to Cozumel was changed at the start of the month. I certainly miss going to Cozumel, but the great upside is that our time in Key West is seriously extended with the altered itinerary. A couple weeks ago, when the itinerary was first swapped around, my friend Alycia and I spent a nice long day out around Key West. We did some exploring down by the Harbourwalk and discovered an area that we fell in love with.

Today it was our mission to go back there to enjoy it some more. We headed out from the ship straight down to the Harbourwalk. We picked out a great open-air restaurant right along the boardwalk and were given seats right at the front where they have garage-style doors that slide right up. I had a silly Canadian-forgets-where-she-is moment when I found myself thinking how lovely it is being all open-air but how crummy it must be with the snow - and if it snowed in Key West, well that certainly would be crummy! We had seafood (of course) and it was awesome. Being there reminded Alycia of home (she's from Nova Scotia).

We then took a quick trip farther down the boardwalk to a few artisan shops where I'd picked out a souvenir I decided weeks back I would treat myself to just before going home. Done.

And then of course, being my last time in Key West, we had to get some key lime pie. We sat down in the Blonde Giraffe's cafe and savoured some of the key lime goodness.

I really can not wait to go home, but key lime pie is something I already miss about being down here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb