Arriving at Thousand Trails Orlando


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clermont
February 1st 2016
Published: February 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Thousand Trails

I left White Springs this morning about 8:20 am, really quite an accomplishment for me. I was driving to Clermont, FL about 2 1/2 hrs from here and I wanted to get there close to 11 because you had to find your site, no reservations, and I wanted to be near my friends. They had a perfect site for me already picked out and I got there in time to claim it. The whole campground is a nature preserve but this site backed up to trees and a huge field. I no sooner parked a visited a little when 6 red-shoulder hawks started having a territory war over the ground right behind me. Oh, there was screeching and dive bombing that lasted most of the afternoon. I really wanted to throw myself in a chair and just veg out for a while but how could I with all this commotion! I put my old telephoto lens on the camera because it was easier to manouver and snapped away. What a great time I had.

After I had several good shots I put the new lens on mainly for practice but hoping to get that perfect picture. It was almost impossible to get the flight shots but I did manage a few.

Then Oscar started barking and here there was a Sandhill Crane walking through the yard begging for his portrait to be taken.

I did manage a 5 min nap, then it was time to go to Ginnie's site for cocktail hour. It was fun being all together again, last time was in October. We caught up on some of the news and talked about some plans for the coming week.

I came home as it was getting dark, about 6:40, and had dinner and got to the blog. More pictures to share....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb