Osprey Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clermont
February 7th 2015
Published: February 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday and today are pretty much the same weather wise and activities.

Oscar and I walked to Hammond Lake which is just across the street, in hopes of seeing some wildlife. There were 2 fisherman on the dock not having any luck getting a fish to bite their hooks, and the breeze was blowing fairly strong so not a lot of birds to be seen.The trees and lily pads offered a pretty view and Oscar even went down some steps to look at the water. Some minnows were swimming by but we didn't see anything bigger.

Went back to the ranch and sat in the sun and read my book for a while til grouch started about bisquit time. Then I heard some calls from an osprey. I grabbed my camera and went toward the dock on Dixie Lake and there he was, sitting in a tree. I was lucky to get a couple of shots before he took off. I watched them, there are 2, fly around the lake for a while then went back and decided to hit the store for a few things before it got dark.

I had a nice dinner, and some snacks, watched some tv and hit the pillow.

Saturday dawned with beautiful colors and after the best night's sleep so far this trip I felt like having at it. After coffee of course.

I started cleaning the camp within an inch of it's life til I heard the Osprey again. Grabbed the camera and walked up to the lake and there was a bird in the nest and one flying overhead. Hooray, they might be using this nest nearby. I leaned the camera on my neighbor's propane tanks, made a perfect support, and snapped away at the bird in the nest. She was looking all around, her head was on a swivel. Then she called with a very fierce looking manner. She took off suddenly and my patience was rewarded with a great shot of her huge wings. Great time...



Read more of my book, took a shower and am now ready to head to the Tampa airport to pick up my sister Pat, from Missouri. More tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb