Lead America..


Advertisement
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I got invited to go to LeadAmerica in Washington D.C. which was the most amazing thing that I did all summer...and that doesn't put down the rest of my summer...that says how amazing this trip was. I went to DC for two weeks. I studied Intelligence, Defense, and National Secutity at a program at Catholic University. It's something im interested in doing when I get older and i LOVED the trip so much

We got to go around DC and have the best seats for touring the monuments, Pentagon, museums, meet with our state representatives, etc. There was so much. It was a heat wave at this point in the summer and walking around all day in business suits was not as fun as it sounds...and yes i know, it sounds amazing haha

Part of the program was the simulation though. It was a real life sinereo. They used the same thing on the people who would soon be running Homeland Security. This was intense. I had 18 hour days. We all would go back to our dorms and do research on our laptops to prepare ourselves for the next day. It was so exilirating, after this trip i just knew...that this was what I was going to do for the rest of my life.

This is also where I ran into Adam Smartt...who introduced me to my new love...American University. Where hopefully I will be spending the next four years of my life.



Advertisement



22nd February 2008

Hi Becky
Hi Becky, my name is Vanessa and I just happened to stumble upon your blog. It's amazing you were able to expierence Lead America, espeically in the area of Intelligence and Defense, as I did the same in 2004. Quite a trip, huh? I can't believe you were able to use laptops! When I went to D.C. we had a simple notebook (essentially a CIA world factbook) to guide us. Good luck in the future, and stay on course with your interest in Intelligence and Defense. It is by far the most important aspect in our lives today.

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb