DC


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me n LincolnMe n LincolnMe n Lincoln

The lincoln memorial
Oh shit! I'm getting wet, the f#*@in sprinklers just turned on!
My first night in DC finds me layin under a bush @ 3am trying to sleep!
Due to flooding @ my present accommodation I moved into a nearby 24hr dunkin donuts to wait it out till 7 in the morn to catch a train to downtown.

This all came about because when I got to DC @ about 10:30pm a metro dude (not a guy who likes tight pink shirts) at the train station told me the address i was goin to, there was no hostels and it was dodgy (I'd get a cap popped in my ass). So he tried to help me out and find me another one but no luck, then a hotel, expensive as hell! but he told me a suburb near a train station where there was a heap of cheaper motels, Bullshit!! The cheapest $150 a night!

After a few coffees and donuts the trains started running & i went downtown. Found a hostel, but couldn't check in till 2pm, so i left my bags and chilled down town & went back @ 2 & finally got some sleep.

I woke up a few hours later and went down stairs to reception and there was a guy takin some hostelers out to some bars and they had open bars, free drinks! I'm there! top night!

The next day I moved to a cheaper, crappier hostel further out of town. Then on Sunday I did the sightseeing thing.
I hit the capital building first, National Air and space museum, Museum of natural history, Washington monument, WW2 memorial, constitutional gardens, Lincoln memorial and the white house. A long arsed day of walking around and it was flippin hot out! like 40degC. It was really good though.
Next stop Florida.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



19th August 2005

So jealous.
Look at you, lucky bastard. Anyway...just caught up with your trip. You certainly give us more info than B does. Have fun. Might see you in the UK. Loz.
20th August 2005

We are Running Through Your Vains
"I'd get a cap popped in my ass." "...it was flippin hot out!" More and more- everyday. You're becoming an American. I love it. Haha! Glad you got to see more than I have in my own country. Blech, I need to travel. Woo! Canada!
20th August 2005

you fliping aussie
your a fliping idiot.... you look like such a dork! but after all thats why i love you! hope your having a blast in dc.... see ya in canada

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb