Time to Leave


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
February 8th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My bags are packed and my stomach's a flutter. Time to travel again. This time I'm heading to Costa Rica. There I will meet up with Kendrick at La Tortuga Feliz on the Carribean coast and spend a week there volunteering to help the turtles. We'll be patroling the beaches in the madrugada in an effort to keep the eggs out of the hands of the poachers.
From there we're heading down the coast towards Panama, staying in a town or two in CR before we cross into Panama. In Panama we'll spend some time in Bocas del Toro. From there a 2-week volunteer stint at Lost and Found Lodge Eco Resort in the cloud forest will bring us into mid-March. The plan is to summit Volcan Baru (the highest point in Panama), finish our time in Panama, and head toward CR again--now the Pacific coast. I have no plans for this time, in fact most of the trip is just nuts and bolts for now. The final two weeks of my stay I will hopefully be living with a Tico family and volunteering for Instituto Asis. Homeward bound 12-April.
I'll try to keep up with this blog, hopefully adding pictures as they are available and maps.
I leave for the airport within the hour. My heart is filled with blessings from loved ones and an eagerness and anxiousness I haven't felt for a couple years. I'm left thinking about John Francis and the spirit of his Planetwalk. I hope I've broken in my new shoes enough.

Peace

CS

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb