What a start.


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm here in San Jose! Finally, after quite the day of travel. My spanish needs work and I need to get used to the currency. Also, I really need some sleep.

After finally getting on the plane, I had a hard time handling the first flight, I thought I might be having a panic attack, but I settled down pretty quick, I guess flying just does that to me sometimes. Didn't really sleep until my layover and I passed out by the payphones until some guy started yelling to somebody on the phone about Dubai and how long it had taken him to get from there to Bagdad and to Atlanta. Arrival in Costa Rica was simple, checked my passport in no time...after waiting in line for a while. Got my bag, got my bags scanned and I was outta there into the barage of taxi drivers. One told me where to go to catch the bus.

The bus I got on said San Jose on the front and I asked a police officer if it was going to San Jose and he said it was by way of Alajuela--where the airport is. I rode it till the end of the line--downtown Alajuela. I asked the driver how to get to San Jose and he pointed to a bus. I got on that one. The driver was on his cell phone and I didn't know how much it was. Anyway, it was a nicer bus so I figured it was going to the main terminal in San Jose--it did. I got off and didn't know what the hell to do. I started meandering with my backpacks on in a busy city center. Then this guy starts talking to me his name was Ryan. Since he was already talking to me I figured I'd ask him "what street is that over there?" He was a pretty shady fellow from Nicaragua, parents live in the States. He didn't really understand where I wanted to go, I think he had some drugs on his brain. We eventually got almost to the hostal but I didn't exactly want him to know where it was so I told him thanks and all that and that yes God thinks he's a good person and that we are all just human beings and that's the bottom line. He wanted 1000 colones i wanted to give 500. He ended up getting 1500--$3 so he can eat..or buy more boose or whatever.

The weather is nice--it's warm. The hostel room is quite warm because this guy doesn't want the door or window open because they had some mosquito problems the past few nights.

Exploring San Jose a little bit tomorrow. I'm trying to fight the feeling that I can't wait to leave this city and get to La Tortuga Feliz and the beach. Tomorrow my plan is to buy a Nicaraguan hammock.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb