Rocky Mountain NP and anniversaries bad and good


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The week following Tamara's wedding we intended to unwind by hiking with our other daughter Rosanna who would be with us until 6 August. Our plans were stymied by constant rain from Sunday, 27 July to Friday, 1 August...a rare event in Colorado where the summer monsoons pass through in a matter of hours most afternoons. With the promise of a bright sunny day on Saturday, 2 August, we made plans to hike in Rocky Mountain National Park and then spend the night in Fort Collins. Linda, Rosanna, Liam and I would go Saturday and Tamara (who had a previous commitment) and Cecily would drive up to Fort Collins on Sunday. She had a job interview for a teaching position early Monday morning (she got the job). Tamara, Ryan, Liam and Cecily would then spend Sunday together while the rest of us returned to Woodland Park.

2 August 2014 Saturday. As forecast the day was perfect. We headed to Estes Park, the gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park, arriving there in time for lunch. As the traffic was terrible going through town we decided to eat at the historic Stanley Hotel. The hotel is famous for its resident ghosts and the setting for the movies "The Shining" and "Dumb and Dumberer," the second being a truly dumb movie not worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as "The Shinning." I then realized that coincidentally August 2 was the anniversary of my Dad's passing away (see One wedding and a funeral), and today we would unintentionally be revisiting the locations of my Dad's last day. Coincidentally, my grandfather also passed away on 2 August. Rosanna was a bit concerned whether today would be my last day! She made sure that I didn't do anything too dangerous the rest of the day. Rosanna graciously treated us to lunch, fearing the cost may have put me into shock.

Following lunch I took the back roads to avoid the heavy traffic and, waving my Senior Pass, entered Rocky Mountain National Park. We took the Trail Ridge Road to the Continental Divide. Rosanna, Liam and I hiked trough a field of rocks to a patch of snow where Liam had a great time making snowballs...not quite the snowman he wanted. The flat rocks were unstable so having a walking stick was a bone saver if not a life saver, much to Rosanna's relief. As it was difficult to walk very far, we decided to return to lower elevations and hike around Bear Lake. On the way down we passed a herd of elk grazing in the high meadows. In winter they would also return to lower elevations.

As we approached Bear Lake signs stated that the parking lot was full and recommended taking the shuttle. As it appeared that more cars were coming from that direction than going to it, I decided to take my chances. We arrived at the trail head parking lot just as a ranger was taking the "Full" sign down. We gathered our walking sticks and water, then proceeded to hike the kilometer around the lake (Liam: "That wasn't a hike. It was a walk."). We stopped occasionally for Liam to dip into the water, and to take pictures including a rock where we had posed for the last family picture with my Dad. Rosanna wanted to know what I was feeling. As it had been 26 years since that day, I had pretty much come to terms with those events. Perhaps I'm not a sensitive person with deep emotions, but I have to admit the coincidences of the day were a bit unsettling.

We then left the park to drive to Fort Collins. The drive along the Big Thompson River gorge to the high plains was a fantastic display of geology. One can't live out West long before wanting to know as much as possible about that science as evidence of the clash of tectonic plates and the resulting upheavals are everywhere. There was also evidence of the floods from last year and this year when 20 times the normal flow flushed through these gorges and ravines wiped out small towns in their path.

We got to Fort Collins about 6 pm and after checking into our hotel we went to an Indian restaurant for dinner. The food was great but much more expensive than the one we go to in Colorado Springs. After dinner we drove around the town and then returned to the hotel where Rosanna, Liam and I used the pool. Rosanna played with Liam while I lounged in the hot tub...but not too long as it was really hot! No need to tempt fate with a heat stroke.

3 August 2014 Sunday. I survived 2 August to live another day, and another anniversary...this one good. I retired on 3 August 2005. Now that's worth celebrating! We moved to Colorado on 18 August 2005. I can't believe we have lived here nine years already!

Rosanna complained that she didn't sleep very well...something about Linda snoring. Liam woke up saying "I've had enough sleep. Time to get up." It was 9 am. Tamara called shortly after saying that she was 10 minutes away. She had left Woodland Park at 7:15 am and was going to arrive in Fort Collins at 9:15 am...two hours to do a three hour trip. She did admit to driving 90 mph at times. Liam was happy to see his Mom and Cecily loved seeing us again.

We had brunch at a nearby restaurant where Ryan joined us. After brunch Linda, Rosanna, and I proceeded to Boulder where progress was impeded by an full Iron-man race. We then bought groceries from Trader Joe's (one is supposed to open in Colorado Springs on 3 October 2014. Hurrah!) and checked out neighborhoods in case Evan got a job in the area. The we headed home via Denver where Rosanna wanted to check out the Cherry Creek neighborhood. Rosanna is really sick of living in the Washington DC area. If they do move to Colorado, she decided she would prefer to live near Boulder. We arrived home about 5 pm to be received by a delighted dog, Bonnie, who was concerned whether someone would feed her. I did.

5 August 2014 Tuesday. For Rosanna's last full day here we took Liam to Santa's Workshop, a local amusement park. The first and last time I had visited there was in 1965 (see Around the World - Take Three). He had a great time, so planning a Disney World trip for the whole family is in the works.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



6th August 2014

Growing Up
Wonderful to hear of your family filling you with joy and adding grandchildren for you to be Santa. Let's face it Bob...Santa lives in the North Pole and Bob Santa is alive and well in Colorado...enjoying anniversaries and looking forward to the next one. Hiking? Really?
6th August 2014

Hiking...
Rosanna had promised that we would do some real hiking while she was here, but that never happened. I wanted to prepare for an eventual "walk" on the Camino de Santiago de Compostello, so now I will only have my dog Bonnie to walk with. Manitou Lake is 10 km from my front door, so my goal is to walk there and back without too much difficulty.
6th August 2014

Congrats on the job, Cecily, and on the pics!
I've traveled quite a bit all around the US but somehow I've never visited Colorado. Yours pics make me wanna go! Thank you for sharing
6th August 2014

August 2
I'm glad to hear that you survived the day....and I'm sure that there will be many many more. It sounds like you had a lovely time with family, and a nice way to remember some very special people.
6th August 2014
Rocky Mountain NP: Elk herd in the high meadows

Great landscapes!
What beautiful places to share and walk with your family! Love those lake, forest and elk photos. Like Rosanna, I've considered moving to Boulder; good to hear there's a Trader Joe's there, and that you're going to get one too. Glad you made it past Aug 2, and congrats on 9 years of retirement near this slice of heaven!
6th August 2014
Rocky Mountain NP: Elk herd in the high meadows

Great to hear from you Tara...
did you ever replace your camera? Do you still have pictures on your computer for untold trips as we are missing reading your blogs?
7th August 2014

Glad you made it
What a strange coincidence with the anniversary of both deaths and his last day. Glad you managed to survive. Great reading about a place near and dear
8th August 2014
Rocky Mountain NP: Elk herd in the high meadows

Blogs coming, hopefully
Thanks, for asking, Bob! I still can't decide on a camera, and I'm bored with reading reviews, so I do nothing. I was sick these last several weeks, so I've not written any blogs, but I do hope to start catching up soon on old ones from this trip.
12th August 2014

Colorado
Your stories are always so heart felt. Thank you for sharing. Places can bring memories. Good to have the family together again.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 18; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb