Now to the Rockies


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We’d planned to spend 3 days in Rocky National Park but having never been there before were unsure of what exactly we would do. Then in Minnesota, Crawford called asking me to please attend a workshop in Dallas, they would pay all expenses. This would occur during our Rocky Mt. time. I thought that Dale and the kids could still enjoy the mountains and I could make a quick trip from Denver.

When we got into the park we found that all of the National Park campgrounds were full except one another hour away with a pass of 12,000’. We found a private campground nearby instead for the night.

Early in the morning Dale and I got up and went to Glacier Basin, the one nearby campground that takes campers on a stand-by basis. We got to the campground by 7a.m. and got on the list and by 7:30 we had a site for the night. We assured the ranger that we were flexible we just wanted to stay for 3 nights.

Dale and I drove back to the private campground where we’d left the RV with kids sleeping, packed it up and went back to Glacier Basin. When we arrived the ranger had a different site for us, one that was open for 7 days so that we would not need to change sites during our visit.

We sat up camp then Dale and I took off for Denver so that I could catch my plane. Since we were concerned about him being gone so long from the kids he dropped me off at the curbside.

I became concerned about Dale when, an hour or so later, a huge thunderstorm hit the area. It was lightning right at the airport so that no flights could take off or land. 3 hours later the storm finally moved off of the airport and planes could take off. The airport was jam packed with people and they were practically pushing the people onto the planes. Finally after midnight I got into my hotel room in Dallas.









Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.8kb