News from California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
March 25th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pop and co.Pop and co.Pop and co.

my brother Gary, niece Laurie, nephew Tyler, "Pop", son Eric and yours truly (Gary's girlfriend Bonnie and Eric's girlfriend Patti were also there but aren't in the photo)
On a sunny day at the end of February, we celebrated my Dad's 90th birthday in Santa Barbara. No party, just a small, partial-family, get-together, which included a few meals in restaurants and playing "petanque" on the beach. I think he was pleased.

I'm still in Berkeley and enjoying it as much as ever. Very busy. Will start my final classes at the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) next week: a class on Scandinavian films, a class on gender, and a workshop on digital photography. By the way, last term I took a website design class and built a new web site, which will soon replace my present one on the net at www.hilarykaiser.com . I'm also continuing with conversational Spanish, attending talks at the U.C. School of Journalism, going to a weekly writing group, and taking a storytelling class at Stagebridge, a community-based theater company in Oakland. If you want to read about Stagebridge, click here .


Because of the landslides near Machu Picchu and a bad ear infection, I've decided to put off a trip to Peru to another time. Instead, I'm going to return to Shanghai in May for a brief visit, from May 4-13. I want to visit the Universal Fair--Expo 2010-- and also hope to go out to the orphanage where I volunteered last year and to the French school where I taught. I'm very fortunate because some very kind friends have offered to put me up.

This sudden decision to return to Shanghai came about last week following a lecture I attended at the Kensington Library about an exhibit on Shanghai at the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco. Seeing the slides and hearing about Shanghai's history made me not only want to see the exhibit (I'm going next week), but also made me very nostalgic for the city and my friends there. And I discovered a real coincidence: Shanghai and San Francisco are sister cities! No wonder I love them both. When I return from Shanghai, I may travel with a friend for a week somewhere in the U.S. or Mexico.




In April, I have a number of speaking engagements. I'll be giving talks on my book on French war brides at the Alliance Francaise in Santa Rosa, at the Berkeley Alliance, and at the Peninsula French Fair in Saratoga. Then on May 3rd--in commemoration of Victory in Europe Day on May 8th--I'll be speaking to the students at the French Lycee of San Francisco about American soldiers in Europe during WWII.

Then, at the end of May, I return to France in time for the birth of Granddaughter No.1, but I may come back to California. I love it here!



TWO ANNOUNCEMENTS:


--My son Eric John Kaiser, who's a songwriter and musician based in Portland, Oregon, is presently on an Alliance Francaise USA-sponsored tour throughout the U.S. and Canada with his friend Tete. See Eric John Kaiser for details.


--I've written a new piece entitled "Smiling in Berkeley, Paris and Shanghai" on my weblog. To read it, visit Hilary Kaiser's Weblog: Thoughts and Travels of a Franco-American .






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Shanghai World Expo 2010Shanghai World Expo 2010
Shanghai World Expo 2010

The theme is "Better City, Better Life"


27th March 2010

Hi Hilary Sorry I will miss your Shanghai visit as I'll still be in the UK.Have a Margarita on me.I've just listened to your son's music and enjoyed it very much. You always remind me,that I need to do more of the things I love.You are certainly showing us all the way. Cheers GABY
27th March 2010

Go, Hilary, Go!
I really enjoy your blog. I'm off to Trouville for nine days. Not as exciting as Shanghai, but still on the sea. Am pleased you are enjoying California. Cheers, Mary
27th March 2010

friend arriving
Diana Smith will be in San Fran soon and would like to look you and Diane Lebow up. Happy springtime. Betty
27th March 2010

congrats
SOOOO busy...and congratulations on the incoming grandchild! Have a great trip to Shanhai - bises, Martha
28th March 2010

Great to hear all your news!
Hi, Hilary: Glad to hear all is going well and sorry we've not had time to connect recently. As you know, I've been very busy as President of the Bay Area Travel Writers, working on my writing, some lectures, and getting our travel plans in order. John and I depart April 15 for Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria to have some adventures, learn a lot, and prepare materials and photos for articles. Then from May 16-June 2, we'll be in France, the first week at a friend's "mas" near Lussan, then about one week in Paris, where I'll be participating in a reading at Village Voice on June 1, from a new anthology I'm in: Best Women's Travel Writing 2010. My story is "Tea in Kabul," about my experiences in Afghanistan. Bisous, Diane www.dianelebow.com.
29th March 2010

What a life!
Hi, Hilary. I can't believe the round-the-world life you're leading. I feel so tied to my desk, paying bills, preparing my taxes, organizing repairs of house and rental properties, not to mention an unending divorce. How do you manage to travel without a base and what do you do about bills! I would love to see the Shanghai exhibit in SF! Want to know more about it. I love Shanghai and have been considering going to the World Expo. I thought it started in June, June to October?? Do you know when it's over? I'm going back to Japan in late October for a couple of weeks and will overlap with Margot Paul who was in Japan the same time as I in 1966-67. Any plans to come East? Ulla Rosenqvist is coming to visit in early May. Congratulations on your granddaughter! Is this your first grandchild? My eldest daughter is getting married next year but I don't expect to be a granny for some time. I love Olli and have taken courses here at American University, but not lately. Too busy these days. You've inspired me to get off my duff and get going with the things I want to do. Be careful, take care. Love, suzy
30th March 2010

Bravo, Hilary!
Bonjour, Hilary, Great update from you- what energy and diversity of interests! Keep it up. Keep us informed. Let's (the Glacier Girls) try to do another trip to the West before you return to Paris. Qu'en penses-tu?? Bisous, Lana
3rd April 2010

Let me know if either you or your son come out my way, on the East Coast. I would love to hear him! And of course to see you and catch up.

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb