Southern California, the start of our ocean side tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Room with a view!


Mt.WoodsonMt.WoodsonMt.Woodson

If you look WAY back, you can see the pacific!
I think that Joshua Tree spoiled us. After staying the night in a church parking lot in Poway, CA we drove to Ramona to the base of Mt.Woodson. Mt. Woodson is said to have the "best bouldering in Southern California." We parked on the side of highway 67 on the corner of Hedy Dr. A hot spot for RVs (I kid). On our way to start our hike up, Adam made friends with a couple of guys. They pointed out good bouldering spots on our hike up the mountain. The hike kicked my butt! It was so steep. I thought I was going to pass out. I developed a cold the night before, and could barely breath as is...add steep hills to that, "Fagedaboudit!" The view was beautiful, thankfully (Adam got his first glimpse of the Pacific way in the distance). Besides that, Mt.Woodson gets a big thumbs down from me. The bouldering that is "the best in Southern California," is for experts. I am far FAR from expert. I did about a 2 ft traverse and called it a day. I felt aweful anyway. Adam walked me back to the RV and made the trek up the steep slopes of Mt.Woodson alone. He was back by sunset. We stayed the night there. On the side of highway 67 on the corner of Hedyy Dr. The sounds of speeding cars soothed us to sleep.
Yesterday I slep most of the day. Adam, again, made the trek up the steep slopes of Mt.Woodson but this time not alone. He brought Kalib. They came back when it started to rain. Then we left our roadside locale. Leaving this spot was a lot easier than leaving Joshua Tree. However, the towns of Ramona and Poway, seemed very nice.

We arrived in Del Mar just as the sun was setting last night. Adam got to see the Great Pacific up close. We parked in a beach parking lot. Adam was so excited, he didn't wait for me before hitting the sand. I came out of the bathroom and he was gone! Him and Kalib, half way down the beach. The view was amazing! So stunning! It definatley sucks you in. Plus, I got to smell the ocean. I miss that smell sooo much! Theres nothing like it in the world. We broke our sleeping spots into 2 places last night. First we were on
Our Road Side HomeOur Road Side HomeOur Road Side Home

Hwy 67 and Hedy Dr.
the side of Highway 101. We stayed there until midnight (parking isn't permitted from 12am-5am). We then found a nice little plaza close by to spend the rest of the night. In the plaza, there was a Starbucks. It was taunting me. I'd LOVE a good cup of coffee. BUT, its not in the budget (grrrr). Hopefully, for my birthday (Mom, Dad, George, Danny....hint hint) I'll have some extra money so I can buy myself a yummy cup of joe!!! (I except gift certificates-you have 4 weeks to think about it ;-) )

Now, we are at San Elijo State Park. Its right on the beach and we get to plug in! Wahoo! I love plugging in! We have to make the most of these times. I get time on the interenet with out the battery dying, we can vacuum. We can take LONG hot showers in the camp grounds public showers. This morning I did all of our laundry by hand. Not fun. But then we took a walk on the beach. I love it! I can't believe how much I've missed sand beneath my feet and the smell of salt air. If I close my eyes I can pretend I'm back on Cape Cod. Its nice. Unfortunately, we only get one night here. Its $30 a night! We'll be back to parking lots and side roads. it cost us about $60 to stay 17 days in Joshua Tree. Anyway, tonight we'll probably ride our bikes into town to look around. The town seemed cool, lots of shops and stuff. I hope to get a hold of my friend Evan so we can spend sometime in San Diego. We'll see. As for now, I sit in the sun and smile. We have such a great RV.

a word from Adam....

"Its an amazing walk down the ever stretching dollar. Thanks for reading. We have over 700 pictures, so don't worry Dad, we've got you covered."


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Del MarDel Mar
Del Mar

Adam see's the Pacific for the first time. So cute!
The rigThe rig
The rig

San Elijo State Beach
San Elijo State BeachSan Elijo State Beach
San Elijo State Beach

Kalib loves the beach


Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb