Down the Caost of California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I took a trip to visit my old navy buddy and his family, he lives just north of the border of Mexico and the united states, I know what you're all thinking ( Great Mexican Food !!! ) So I decided to drive down along the coast, but sorry to say, there was such an overcast this morning that I didn't get many of the beautiful beach scenes that I wanted. I did however make a stop at an overlook and found thousands af these little squirrels eating out of the hands to people stupid enough to hand feed them, I watched a small boy and his father with one of them, father snapping away with camera as his son fed one of the wild squirrels by hand, you did hear me say wild?? They were having such a wonderful day, Until, yes you guessed it, The little boy ran out of peanuts and the cute little squirrel bit his finger instead. Don't worry the squirrel was ok, but the boy..... yeah, he was alright too.
So I continued heading southward along the coastal beaches of San Diego, got o couple of scenes and took some pictures of a model taking pictures on the beach, I don't think she was a pro, looking at the photographers equipment. Still heading south, I arrived in San Diego and crossed the bridge to Coronado and took a couple of shots the the city from there.
After punching in the coordinates to my buddy's house, I started on a journey than sent me from the cool relaxing 65Deg breezes into the "101 oh my god!!!! I need to call this dude and make up an excuse why I couldn't make it hot zone"
Once there, Shep told me that " Awww man, this ain't nothing" Once inside, we all caught up and I was treated to some soup and the best Chicken Enchiladas and re fried beans I have ever tasted, with homemade (HOT) salsa. They tell me it was mild, but my mouth said other. A few hours later, Shep took me on a tour of the nearby community and over into Mexicali Mexico, It was getting dark by then, so I only was able to take a couple of shots.
Very Important Note: When trying to depart Mexico, DO NOT go over to window#1 where that mean woman border patrol officer works. Who knew that I needed my Birth Certificate to come back home to the stated, she asked way too many questions, like where was I from, when she was holding my drivers license in her hand, and why was I sweating, "Uhhhhh maybe the 120 Degrees Out here, Duh!" ( almost got detained for that one) Once back in the US, I almost got out and kissed the ground, but took a second look and changed my mind (kinda dirty)

Note: All food images were taken with my iphone, so the quality may be somewhat lacking in clarity


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Rocky RoadRocky Road
Rocky Road

This rock formation looked like it had been hand stacked
Sopa De FidioSopa De Fidio
Sopa De Fidio

Mmmmmmm!!!
Hot Homemade SalsaHot Homemade Salsa
Hot Homemade Salsa

They say it was mild but, I'm still feeling the heat
Refried BeansRefried Beans
Refried Beans

Withe cheese melted in, tastes sooooooo goooooood!!!
Great BreakfastGreat Breakfast
Great Breakfast

Chimi Changas, Bacon & Hashbrowns with mango juice, Mmmmmmm


19th June 2009

SAFELY HOME
LOVE THAT USA!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb