Vacaville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Vacaville
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Garlic festivalGarlic festivalGarlic festival

Me, the Gilroy Garlic Queen and her court.
I have bug bites all over my legs and hip. Of course, I am hoping it is not bed bugs. I did stay in two hotels and two hostels, but I think these are from the park in Jackson. Maybe chiggers. I looked up bites on the internet and apparently you can’t judge a bug by it’s bite. Mosquitos, chiggers and bed bug bites can all look the same. The only way to positively identify bed bugs is to actually catch one of the bugs, or at least see it, which I didn’t (and I checked everything, everywhere). This is the second time I have been covered in bites. The first was after I left St. Louis. I attributed that to mosquitoes from camping, but I did have on repellent, except when I showered. I don’t know. If I have bed bugs and brought them into my daughter’s house, she will be so upset and I would feel so bad. They are so hard to get rid of. They don’t carry any diseases, at least. I have searched my luggage (which was left in 90+ degree temperatures for hours on end in my car…that is supposed to kill them) and I
Garlic festivalGarlic festivalGarlic festival

Shay and Mike
didn’t find any signs. So, hopefully, these bites are just chigger or mosquito bites. Anyway, we went to the Garlic Festival in Gilroy. It was a typical festival. Too many people. There were four music stages and I had some great garlic fries. We stopped at a fruit stand on the way back and picked up some HUGE blackberries. I wouldn’t eat one until we got home and washed them (which totally irritated the abrasive lady selling them). Remember in “The Good Girl” when Jennifer Aniston tried to kill her boyfriend with the blackberries? Yesterday I got my car’s oil change and had it washed. It seemed to be grateful for this. It was long overdue. I also went to lunch with Shay at some little Greek place. It was very good. I then had to go and hold her feet down while she did sit ups for her annual physical fitness test. She did 52 sit ups (max) and 38 push ups (off max by 39 😞, then we went and got smoothies at Keva Smoothie. They were very tasty. When we got back to Shay’s apartment, I caught up on some TV and I have to say, I
Garlic festivalGarlic festivalGarlic festival

Mike signing up to be a bone marrow donor. He's such a good boy.
love TV. Entourage was great and Hell’s kitchen was so exciting. Today I am off to Berkeley. I’ve never really gone to Berkeley just to hang out, so this will be an adventure. I want to check out the library (some free speech movement history) and some of the trendy little shops.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Garlic festivalGarlic festival
Garlic festival

Shay eating a garlic ice cream cone
Fruit StandFruit Stand
Fruit Stand

Big Blackberry
Fruit StandFruit Stand
Fruit Stand

Blackberry tongues
Fruit StandFruit Stand
Fruit Stand

Blackberry eating
Fruit StandFruit Stand
Fruit Stand

Blackberry eating
Fruit StandFruit Stand
Fruit Stand

"Do I have something in my teeth?"
ShayShay
Shay

My little PR girl
My carMy car
My car

Oil change
My carMy car
My car

wash
ShayShay
Shay

Front leaning-rest


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb