Salt Lake City to San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
December 5th 2011
Published: December 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sal lake City to Sanfrancisco


Waking up on a train is something everyone needs to experience. It really is quite special. Met a lovely couple travelling from one side of the States to the other to see their family. Really enjoyed my time in my sleeper gazing out the window in quiet solitude. The landscape changes so slowly that, unlike New Zealand, you can have a nap or read a book, look up and not much has changed. After the dramatic scenery of the Rockies, the mountain scape of the Sierra Nevada moutain range was rather tame. Still quite dramatic in its own right though. I rolled into Downtown San Francisco at about 8.30pm which made the trip about 17 1/2 in duration. Stayed down by The Fisherman's Wharf which meant that walking in and around the inner city was easy. Took a trip to Saulcilito on a Ferry so I could get the night time shots of the Downtown. Ate at Bubba Gumps and enjoyed a chowder. Had to do that because the last time I was in San Francisco the movie had just come out.

I find it quite special to just walk around these different cities. My Mum has told me that her Mum just loved to go to a big city and just walk around so she just soak up the atmosphere. I now know what she saw in doing that.

Just walking into a cafe, buying a coffee, sitting down in the morning sun and watching the bussle of life just pass you by. It just works for me somehow.

Arrived at my hotel at around 8.30pm in San Francisco making for a long night/day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb