Sailing on the Bay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

<
Today I woke up feeling refreshed after actually sleeping well last night! We went out first thing to find the house where I used to live- we drove straight past it at first as I remembered it being bigger. It was weird to see the house again, and the school where I attended kindergarten. I couldn't find the pre-school I went to though, which was disappointing. The centre of Livermore has changed lots, so I had no chance of recognising anything there!

At around midday we headed for Richmond, and to Larry's boat, and from there headed out for a sail on the bay. It was amazing. We sailed up to Angel Island, and then around Alcatraz. Although the sky was very hazy, we could see the city outline, and both the Bay and Golden Gate Bridges. We saw some seals by Alcatraz, and some Pelicans flying low over the water. We had some narrow misses with a tanker and a ferry, but no-one got very worried! We sailed home as the sun set, watching the sun slip behind the hills and dyeing the water orange and red. The sun reflected off windows of surrounding buildings as well, causing sparkling orange lights from all directions. We pulled into the berth in the almost-dark, and put the boat to bed by torchlight (or should I say flashlight!). When we got back Joyce had prepared pasta and salad which went down a treat.

We are now having a cup of tea, and I am throwing endless balls for one of the dogs. She keeps bringing the ball and putting it behind me on the computer chair, and waits for me to throw it. However, some of the time she forgets to actually drop the ball and so I end up sitting with her head behind my bum for ages! And yes, I know you are surprised, but I am actually in a room with two dogs and not freaking out!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



24th January 2007

Enjoying your accounts
So glad you are having such a good time. Larry and Joyce have done you proud. Our memories are being revived! And even a video! We are practically there with you. Lots of love M+D.

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb