Don't believe anything I say, take what you want, but only believe what you know to be true from your direct experience....


Advertisement
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The next day I filled my belly with sushi at Little Tokyo, the “JapanTown.”

The day after that I looked at my maps and decided to head to the famed Venice Beach. I walked to Union Station and waited for the Red Line #33 to show. The guy next to me was wearing a very fashionable suade hat with a feather in it. While I was admiring his attire, he whipped out a harmonica and played away. I smiled because I had wanted to learn how to use one of those before I left for my trip.

We started to talk and he threw away his former plans to hang out with me. We rode the bus together and conversed with some doped-up lady in the seat nearby. Ahhh, laughing is good.

He told me all about the drum circle on the beach, the Hari-Krishna Buddhist group that paraded around chanting, and the famous hippie on rollerblades that plays the guitar. (I forget his name-but his portrait was in a mural.)
When we arrived he took me to the spraypainting on the beach, where there are walls stuck into the sand for the soul purpose of graffitti art. The bombers line up and show off their detailed displays of talent, or quickly scrawl their tags on the thick, plastered panels. Even the trees were decorated and I knew that I had to move on from stenciling and give this a shot.
I heard the drumming in the distance and he knew what I was thinkin'.

We ran through the sand laughing and it really must have looked funny, but as we got closer to the circle, nothing mattered, and the crazier you looked, the more you fit in.

I never smile as much as I do when I'm dancing with hippies. (Or dancing in general.) Drum circles are so full of this crazy energy that can calm you or fill you with movement. Half of the people are high but the other half is just -high- from the drums and the flutes and the whirring and shouting and....
Yeah.

From the station I had to walk maybe a few miles to get back to the ArtShare. Alone. And you know what? I didn’t see one other person on the streets. And I’m still alive.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

LA PrisonLA Prison
LA Prison

Conveniently located directly accross the street from the hospital.
AndreasAndreas
Andreas

My friend from Germany-we were so tired by the end of the day, we were sleeping on the bus.
Mexican Christmas FestivalMexican Christmas Festival
Mexican Christmas Festival

It's good to know Spanish around here.


20th January 2007

I know that guy who plays the guitar on roller blades,(not personally) did you see him ?

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb