I'm Livin' in East LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
December 14th 2006
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last week of my journey was quite the friggin' adventure.
I took a ride from cool guy on Craigslist, we drove about 5 hours down to Los Angeles and I wasn't really sure where I was going to end up. Halfway throught the ride his friend asked me to stay with her for the night, so I ended up kickin' it with a married chinese couple and their kids.

I would have stayed longer with them in their beautiful house in Thousand Oaks, but I knew it was potential disaster. I always ended up staying longer than planned, and time was a-tickin'.
And so they drove me to Downtown LA, the place they had warned me not to go under any circumstances. Why, then, did I go anyways, might you ask?

Because I had found a fellow couchsurfer who offered me a place to stay, and he happened to live right smack in the center of the dreaded downtown.

The best worst mistake of my life.

His name is Joe, and he happens to live with probably some of the coolest people that belong to LA. Of course, this is coming form a girl who only met maybe 25 different people while there. Haha.

His roommate is James and they have a pet scorpion and rocket launcher. They practice Ju-Jitsu in the commonroom and both use the same one tupperwear container to hold evrything they are eating-from cereal to cocktails. I met half of the people in the appartments because the community computer is in Joe's room and they all use it in the middle of the night.

Walkin' LA at Night

After the introduction I took a nap and when I woke up I was feigning for coffee. I left the busy apartments and walked to the store on the corner. I asked the dreaded man behind the counter if there was a Starbucks or something around.
“Yeah,” he said, cautiously, “but you can’t go alone.”
I was assigned a personal security GPS, his name was Bill or Bryan from Boston, and he navigated the whole five blocks with me. When we got to the coffee shop we said farewell and I ordered my usual Café Mocha.
I called Joe when I was done and when I asked him how to get back to the house he told me
Bird Of Paradise Bird Of Paradise Bird Of Paradise

...grows like a weed.
he’d be right there.
People were starting to make me nervous…where was I?!

Not really though.

That night the ArtShare Lofts put on a show to raise money to fix up the appartments. It was awesome to be a part of that my first night. The music was good, and I got some funky photos of the bands surrounded by incandescent Christmas lights. I danced a little and crashed out for what felt like five days.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Party!Party!
Party!

At the place I'm staying, they had a party/concert to raise money to fix up the appartments.
Bombing BeachBombing Beach
Bombing Beach

They have these walls up on Venice Beach where they let graffiti artists play. The cool part is: it all gets painted over...what a lesson in unnatatchment?
Venice BeachVenice Beach
Venice Beach

Such a weird thing it is to smell spray paint and the salty waves mixed together.
Drum CircleDrum Circle
Drum Circle

There was yet another mini-festival, an energized hippie drum circle.
VB at NightVB at Night
VB at Night

Don't ever walk in dangerous LA alone at night!....right...


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb