Day 1: Part 1 – Back to the Future


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » LAX
January 27th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Or should I say forward to the past..?

I arrived at Melbourne airport at around 10am, with plenty of time to spare before my flight was due to leave, at 1pm. After checking in my bag, Mum and I headed to good old McDonald’s for a quick bite to eat, where I realised I’d left my credit card at home… No big deal really, I wasn’t planning on using it when I have my travelex card… But would have been nice to have just in case. Needless to say I started to freak out a little bit..

I actually got quite nervous before flying this time, I’ve no idea why… I don’t think I did last time. I said goodbye to Mum – she cried =P – and went through the international gates. Firstly had to go through immigration. No dramas, though because I’ve got both my laptop bag, and a handbag (plus a bag with 2 jackets in it), I got a little bit flustered trying to get it all into the different trays to go through the scanners.

Once through there, got my passport checked – no line so it was easy! I got asked to do a quick survey about the last part, only took about 2 minutes.

On to the duty free store. This looked completely different to last time, I think it seemed bigger. I didn’t have that good a look because I didn’t think I had very long left at this point, and didn’t know where my gate was. Bought some lollies for the plane and left, walked past a few other stores and cafes, then through a hallway to the gates. At the end of the hallway, there was more stores, and some gates, kept walking past until I found a sign saying which direction my gate was. I walked down another hallway, then down some escalators, then finally found my gate!

Flight was slightly delayed due to late arrival, so found some toilets, then sat down and waited til I was called on the plane. I was feeling a lot more at ease once I was sitting comfortably on my plane to Sydney. Plus I had a window seat, and the row to myself! Score! Plane took off no problems, and it felt like I was only up there for 20 mins! Landed in Sydney after 1 hour.

Got off the plane, had another toilet stop, then went straight into the lounge, where my flight to LA boarded almost immediately. Window seat again, but this time I had 2 other people in my row with me.

Flight to LA wasn’t too bad, though it was rather bumpy the whole way through – the seatbelt sign was on majority of the time! You would have hated it, Mum! United just have the shared tellys, and crappy radio… But the first movie was The Social Network. It was good, but I kept missing bits when the captain interrupted or I was filling out a form, and it kinda felt like it just ended out of nowhere… Might have to watch it again when I can concentrate properly!

Second film was Wall Street, but I was tired so I opted for some music and a sleep. Took me a while to get comfortable, but was fine once I pushed my seat back a tad. Except for the stupid kid behind me – kicking my chair. Her mum was going, “Don’t do that, sweetie,” but wasn’t actually doing anything about it. Ugh! Turned my music up louder and drifted in and out of sleep!

Towards the end of the flight, they started playing a movie called the Switch, with Jennifer Aniston, which I’d never heard of… But was really good – until it got interrupted by us landing! Another one I’ll have to re-watch when I get home!

As we were landing, I was looking out the window, and I spotted the Hollywood sign! Got off the plane, had to clear customs, get my luggage, re-check my luggage, walk from terminal 6 to terminal 7 (which takes at least 10 mins) then go through immigration again, then find my gate. I couldn’t remember what time it was (I’m still on Aussie time) and was stressing about missing my flight… Finally found my gate, and found out my flights been delayed 1.5hours… So that’s where I am as I write this! Seeing as I’ve still got at least an hour, I’m thinking I’ll try to grab some food!
Oh, and I say forward to the past, because I left at 1pm Melbourne time, and it’s now 11.30am LA time, still the 27th =P

Advertisement



29th January 2011

I don't think I realised just quite how many flights you're going to have been on for this trip! All these already, plus the same back, plus the 2 for Niagara! lol I just cannot wait to see you! I'm just SO excited!! x x
31st January 2011

Errrrr flights :P hates airports so much now!
31st January 2011

Anon - You need to write your name or I don't know who you are =P

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb