Tour Itinerary


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

European Tour 2009 --

August 13
-- We arrive at Frankfurt airport. Travel to Asbach. Unpack and repack for our first road trip. Leave for Rodagau, Germany for pow wow (August 14-16). We'll participate in the pow wow and promote our trading post, Sacred Grounds Trading Post, the only native-owned, authentic trading post in Tucson. (Can I blatantly self-promote commerce on a blog in the hopes that a reader might be interested in checking us out on the web, www.sacredgroundstp.com?)

August 21-23 -- Off to the Old West Ranch (somewhere in Germany) for pow wow and festival.

August 24 -- On the road to Greece, in a 9 passenger van, pulling a trailer with our "stuff," including mics, amps, lights, camera, action (sorry, got carried away) which we use for performances and pow wows. Since I didn't order a trip tic from AAA, I don't know the way except that we'll be driving 22 hours and I don't have to leave a trail of bread crumbs. Not my job. I'm taking my ipod, nintendo, laptop, book, journal, ear plugs, eye mask, faux airline blanket (ordered not stolen) ... hey and I emailed all the guys with detailed packing lists, so if they're not prepared, what can I say????

So we're in Greece until September 3 or 4. During our stay in Greece, I understand we will participate in the first-ever pow wow there and are scheduled for another performance, maybe in Athens. I do know we'll spend a few days touing ancient sites. Our host lived here for several years, so he knows the city well.

September 5 -- We do have a gig in Northern Germany somewhere. Remember, all we do is get in the van. For me, the habitual list maker, detailed itinerary dictator, this is somewhat liberating. I'm going with the flow, ebbing and flowing with the tides, moving and grooving .... all without chemicals!!! I'm wondering if I can use that ebbing and flowing stuff when I don't want to do housework!!!

September 6 -- Finally we travel back to Asbach for a little rest.

September 9 -- Road trip to Amsterdam. We did this last year and found the city fascinating. As luck would have it, our host lived in Amsterdam for several years so we hit all the high (and low) spots in a short length of time. Between Lee and me, I'll let you guess who enjoyed the lows more than the highlights.

September 11 -- We travel to the Westerwald (Germany) pow wow scheduled September 12-13.

September 14 -- Back to Asbach to pack and get ready to return to Tucson.

September 16 -- Frankfurt airport -- Lee and his group go back to Tucson via London. I travel with them to London, ditch them and spend another few days with Kim. We've scheduled a night at a "haunted" castle looking for paranormal activity. Sure it's all hype, but it will be fun.

September 25 -- Terry returns to Tucson.



Advertisement



27th July 2009

Sounds like you're going to have an amazing time!! I wish you and Lee well on your travels and I plan to check back here often for updates! PS - let me know what staying in a haunted castle was like!
11th August 2009

how fun!
Like Sandy, I wanna know what happens in the "haunted" castle. So glad you're having a good time. Take plenty of pictures. The "boys" will be there soon, enough! They're so excited, it's funny. I'll be checkin in............

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb