London, Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in London! That's the most important part! Kim met me at the airport. That's the second most important part!!!

Left Tucson at 12:35 p.m. on Tuesday, August 4. It was hot, over 100 degrees; I try to avoid knowing the temperature in the summer. I was looking forward to cloudy London skies, even rain.

Flew to Atlanta, Georgia. I had a 3 hour layover, so I had plenty of time to walk the zillion miles between the terminal where we landed and the terminal where my flight was to take off. I was happy for the extended time as I have yet to figure out my carryon strategy. I do realize the easiest thing would be not to take so much "just in case" stuff, but at my age I don't think that's a happening thing. I wanted to take my flutes as carryon but not my flute bag. It's big, heavy and unwieldy. My choice was probably just as bad. The bag was bigger and heavier than the little rolly computer case I tried to use to carry it. It kept slipping off. You've seen those people who struggle with carryon luggage as they negotiate around the teeming masses. And I know I knocked more than a few elbows on the way down the airplane aisles.

Finally made it to my gate. Took out my phone to call Lee, hit the speed dial. Nothing. No ringing. It's fried. Luckily I can still text, so Lee and I spent the next hour texting.

No sleep for me on the plane. Not only free movies and TV, there are also free games. Zuma! That kept me occupied for hours. Obviously, I am easily entertained. Arrived in London at noon on Wednesday.

Not one to give in to sleep deprivation, Kim and I went to Covent Gardens to look at the shops. It was sunny and warm, a nice walk. We ended the day at the neighborhood grocery store, purchased a lot of heavy stuff and lugged everything home in our little ecofriendly shopping bags.

Looking forward to a good night's sleep.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb