On the Road Again...Almost


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm a virgin blogger...hoping to create an interesting chronicle of our second "European Tour." These tours enable me to have a different view of the world than the typical tourist/adventurer, which I've been several times in my life. Together with my husband, we will be traveling to pow wows throughout Germany ... and even to Greece. Europe has a subculture of Native American pow wow enthusiasts; we call them hobbyists. Germans, Brits, Czechs, Hungarians and many more hold pow wows throughout Europe. They basically follow the format of pow wows here in the States. They make their own regalia, learn the appropriate steps for the different dances, and form their own pow wow drums. For those of us who follow the pow wow trail in the US and participate as dancers and venders, it is a somewhat strange event. However, the people are friendly, dedicated, and respectful. So we agreed to return, this time with other dancers and singers (traditional southern drum). We will be on the road most of our time in Germany; however, we will have a chance to relax at our hosts' home in Asbach. For us, it's an awesome opportunity ... our hosts live in Germany; they know where they're going. We get in the van when scheduled. We perform on time. We pow wow. We don't need maps. We don't need to translate. The nine of us will see, do, explore, experience for almost five weeks.

I'm leaving on August 4 for London to spend some time with my daughter. I'll meet the rest of the group in London on August 13 and we'll all fly on to Frankfurt. We leave from the Frankfurt airport to the first pow wow. Last year we slept on gym floors (once on a gymnastic mat, once on the really hard wooden floor). No 4-star hotels for us. One-half star hostels or the van. It's part of the adventure!

I hope my family and friends will be able to share this adventure through my blogging. Now if I could just find the spellcheck!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb