Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tempe
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SNOW IN ARIZONA!SNOW IN ARIZONA!SNOW IN ARIZONA!

This is what it looked like in Flagstaff ARIZONA! I didnt think it snowed in arizona, thank goodness it was gone in Tempe!
Well, I know that this is not about Camp A. But I thought you'd like to see some pictures of the schools I went to look at in Arizona, as well as a few others that we took while we were there.

I went to look at 2 schools, one in Tempe and one in Tucson. Mom and I drove there - YUCK! But we made it there and back and had fun too! We went to this cool desert museum and that was really fun.

As for the schools, I really liked them both. The one in Tempe is Collins College of Design and I know that I"ll be able to go in as a junior there... well 99% sure. The one in Tucson is The Art Center Design College, not quite sure if I'll go in as a junior. That's a major concern for me because I dont want to be bored and would like to be done in 2 years. The both will let me take evening classes so I can get close to a full time job in the day and get experience in the field. Since I"ll have my associates degree hopefully this will be easy to do (getting a job that is).

Collins has about 4000 students and requires you to have a laptop so there wasn't much to see but it seemed really clean and very friendly, I really liked it. They started off as a graphic design school and I"ll also have the opportunity to study abroad if I wish to do so. They have some apartments blocked off for dorms and aren't to pricey either, and you have the option for a washer/dryer in your apartment!!! So exciting!

The Art Center has about 400 students and offers marketing/advertising as well - required classes for graphic design. I don't have to have a lap top here. They don't have apartments blocked off, so I'd have to find my own if I go by myself. If Shawn comes we'd have to either way. This school seemed just as educational as the other, but you have to have 45 credits gen. ed and I only have 12 since I'm at a tech school, so thats where I'm thinking that I won't get in as a junior but we'll have to wait and see.

As for the towns, I liked Tempe
The Art Center Design College, TucsonThe Art Center Design College, TucsonThe Art Center Design College, Tucson

A building at The Art Center
a lot better. Its very clean and has a lot to do. Free buses, and a train coming really shortly to go between Phoenix, Mesa, Chandler, Scottsdale, etc. So that will be nice. Tucson was very spread out and wasn't as nice looking. It did have nice parts but not like Tempe. Once we drove around ALOT we found things to do - like the Desert museum which I guess is one of the top 2 places in AZ to go see.

I have a lot of thinking to do. Shawn's coming next week during his break from teaching - he's done w/ the middle school on Friday and goes to highschool a week from Monday - and he's going to look into teaching jobs there... I think. Not sure if I want to go by myself or not, but I do think it will be a great opportunity to get away from the snow for awhile and see what lifes like outside of Iowa.

Have fun looking at pictures and I"ll keep you updated on what I decided to do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MomMom
Mom

Mom looking at a Cactus
HUGE CACTUS!HUGE CACTUS!
HUGE CACTUS!

Huge Cactus at the desert Museum.. LOOK SHORTS!!!!
Old RestrauntOld Restraunt
Old Restraunt

Mom walking away from one of the longest running mexican restraunts in Tucson, AZ


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb