Alaska Day 17 - Black Rapids Lodge AK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Delta Junction
August 8th 2012
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I awake fairly early and quickly realize day 17 is not going to go as planned. With the loss of sleep two nights ago, the additional all day in the car yesterday on sensory overload, I’m feeling exhausted and muscles again clamoring such that any hiking as I intended to do today is simply out of the question. Like it or not, a rest day is required. I open the drapes and lay back down with the most incredible mountain views as I just lay there looking out the windows. What a life!

Breakfast is pancakes, sausage, fruit, juice, coffee and I am surprised I am easily able to eat it all. I head back to my room and while allowing bodily rest, work on blog pictures and writing. Lunch is not provided as a full meal at the Lodge because most are out and about or have taken sack lunch for hiking, etc. I am actually glad and very content with a couple of granola bars from my car store. Rowdy the dog visits me periodically. He along with the owners and workers probably think I’m nuts for spending so much of the day in my room but I can’t be concerned with that since I need the rest and they don’t realize how wonderfully relaxing it is to just sit in the ambiance of their room with the mountain views because they are here all the time. Just watching the clouds that continuously change the mountain views is enough stimulation. I do step out on the deck periodically, sitting complacently at the small table they have there. Rowdy again meanders by as if he knows his quiet greeting and soulful company is just what I need. An afternoon nap helps as well.

Dinner time arrives and even with such an inactive and relaxing day, I find myself hungry and able to eat the wonderful dinner placed in front of me. Afterward, I peruse the books of history about the original lodge at the bottom of the hill and the building of the current lodge in which I am staying. I have an unexpected and wonderful conversation with the owner Mike with just an initial question of what hiking might be good tomorrow. He is a very unique person and has quite an incredible story. I later find it is somewhat unusual for him to have spent such time in conversation so I will cherish to myself the stories we both shared with the exception of one. Mike cautioned me, almost a warning, that given the time I was spending in Alaska, I was going to have a hard time adjusting once home…that I may feel life kind of closing in on me since I’ll have spent enough time with the wide open Alaskan space, culture, and overall glory. We talk about it for a while and though I take heed, I don’t quite get it. He simply remarks I will when I get home and I accept that. I know I won’t forget his caution as it was delivered from direct knowledge and experience. We cover a lot of topics and I am sad when he and Rowdy needed to leave. It was the kind of personalized exchange that made me want it to have continued for so much longer. I am so thankful for having had the opportunity as it is just this kind of exchange with people who actually live here that I had hoped for. He has offered Rowdy to accompany me if I do hike tomorrow so I have company and somewhat of a guide since Rowdy knows the routes…Thank you Mike.

It is still light out – an advantage and disadvantage of the Alaskan summer days. It’s not that you can’t sleep because it’s still light out, it’s that you don’t want to since there is plenty of light to still enjoy most anything. I realize with the rest filled day, I need to do something to stretch out the muscles before heading to bed or it will be a difficult night. So I decide on a walk down the hill and along the highway. I check out the old lodge and find the historical information about its restoration very interesting. The original Rapids Roadhouse was established in 1902 at the beginning of the Alaska Gold Rush. It is one of the last remaining roadhouses oh the historic Valdez-Fairbanks trail. When I stand here removing the highway in my mind, thinking about miners or travelers making their way through these mountains on horseback or wagon with mules packed to the limit, it is rather mind boggling. I think of how much I’ve enjoyed the wonderful meals and hospitality and can only imagine how welcome it must have been back in the day to reach this old Roadhouse that provided hot meals and cots for beds that those folks wouldn’t have had for days or perhaps even weeks. I suddenly feel like I’m living the life of luxury!

I walk along the highway enough to satisfy and head back up the hill noticing flowers and other views I missed on the way down. All is quiet back at the lodge. You’d think I’d be so rested from such a day that I wouldn’t be able to sleep but doesn’t feel that way…still tired enough to head to bed. Tomorrow is another day and will hopefully be able to hike. Goodnight and God bless from Black Rapids Lodge, Alaska.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Original Rapids RoadhouseOriginal Rapids Roadhouse
Original Rapids Roadhouse

In process of restoration


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb