Arriving in one piece


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
July 10th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

In Cancun


Making home in Cancun

Arrived without any problems into Cancun, but was treated to an extra half hour on the plane while parked waiting for a bus to deliever us like cargo into the immigration office. Took a bus from the airport to Centro Cancun and found Mexico hostels about twenty minutes after leaving the bus terminal. For the financially concerned my bed here is running me 100 pesos per night. The published exchange rate for bank cards from ATMs right now is hovering around 11.10 Pesos to the US$. So basically its about $10 US which includes towel, sheets, and breakfast.

Cancun to me is two cities in one. There is Centro (Downtown) and the Zona Hotelera. Downtown is what you would expect for a poorer country. Many of the building are concrete block or poured cement and left with and unfinished facade. The Zona Hotelera is the equivalent of tourist hell. I would love it if I was on vacation with a group of friends and had tons of cash to blow, however that is not the current case as you all know. The Zona Hotelera could be just about anywhere on a beach in the world that has been well Americanized. If the sudden urge to consume a steak from Outback, or to stop off in TGI Fridays for some Pot Stickers I know exactly where to head.

For my first day after getting settled into my spot here at Mexican Hostels I did an aimless walk around Centro until stopping to grab a bite to eat. Three tacos, rice, and a coke ran me 40 pesos, $4 US. I then took a bus to the Zona Hotelera to check it out and did about a 5 km walk back up to bars and shops. Post hurrican recovery is in full swing here and it is most obvious with all the current development taking place in the Zona Hotelera.

Back at the hostel I began talking with a few of my fellow travelers and met Sarah, a 20 year old native to the Netherlands. I was highly impressed by her fluency in 5 languages (English, Dutch, German, French, and Spanish). We ended up grabbing a bite to eat and headed with some others back to the Zona Hotelera. To give you an idea, its is about a 20 minute bus ride from downtown costing
La PlayaLa PlayaLa Playa

The weather was nothing great so I am saving my beach time for a better day
6 pesos. Deciding that the huge bars were a bit expensive we went cheap and bought beers from the Oxxo (The Mexican 7-11) and chatted away the better part of the evening on a bench near the water.

A quick ride home and to sleep I went. As with all dorm style hostels you can never be quite sure how you are going to sleep and I managed just shy of 5 hours of sleep before the masses began packing up for their day trips. I did manage to sneak another 2 hours or sleep in by skipping breakfast, so in the end I had no troubles. A lot has to do with the room being on the 3rd floor so the road noise is not as bad, and there is a much better breeze coming through. The only method of cooling the room are the 6 huge fans hanging from the ceiling and the 8 giant windows that cover three of the walls.

All and all the first day has gone over quite well. I have no plans for where I will be going next so I will just have to wait to see where my feet
RebuidingRebuidingRebuiding

Condo project on the beach
take me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home

View from my bed in Mexico Hostel in Centro Cancun


12th July 2006

Miss you
I'm jealous here dude, wish I could be there with you. Glad to hear you are doing well. Talk to you soon!
12th July 2006

Predictable
Only you would think about going to an Outback once arriving in Mexico. Well, maybe Scott would too. Try to be more authentic and drink Coronas instead! Be good, be safe.
12th July 2006

Glad you made it safe and sound. Miss ya already man and keep with the pictures!
13th July 2006

Hugs from Tampa
Sounds like you are having fun. I am very jealous right now! I am currently looking out my office window at the torrential down pour and trying to figure out how to best stay dry and keep my files safe as I walk the 4 city blocks to my meeting with the County.... Have a real margarita for me please! Take care, have fun and be safe! Keep up the updates for those of us who are living out the real life version of Office Space! Delta Love and mine, M
13th July 2006

Sup, Stud.
Dude, looks like you're having yourself an experience already. I like that touch with the mexican 7/11 and talking the night away on the beach. Keep up the fun, homeslice.
13th July 2006

Hi
Thanks for the phone call this afternoon. I am glad you are having such a great time. Do me a favor and give my phone number to your traveling companions in case they would need to get in touch with me. Take care, have fun and remember everything. Love Dad...
13th July 2006

I Love You
I can only assume that you had a wonderful day with the blonde, linguist! Are then any people my age staying in your hostel? Keep the pictures coming, I really enjoy seeing them. Take care. God speed. Have fun! I'm @ Uncle Neals' He and Aunt Sue say "Hi" And they love this format!
14th July 2006

Vacation Assignment
Hey Robbie, Your vacation assignment: 1. Have a good time. 2. Be respectful of the culture of other’s. Don’t be a typical “rude” American. 3. Don’t do anything “stupid.” 4. Return in the same condition that you left in. If you don’t, your father may have your mother to “deal with”, but I’ll have both of them to “deal with”, and I’d hate to have to contact a voodoo doctor just so I could kill you a second time! ;-) Seriously though, you have a wonderful time, take lots of pictures, and keep safe. Big Hugs, Aunt Greg
14th July 2006

Wish I were traveling with you
Hey Robbie - Wish I could travel with you. I have been in Europe for almost 2 mths having the time of my life. Unfortunately I have to retrun to the States in 2 days. I look forward to watching your trip online. We will have to compare pictures. Miss you!! Have a ton of fun, but stay safe!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb