More time at the Dentist


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
December 11th 2010
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A better start to the day this morning, I was up early enough to have a leisurely breakfast, and then back to my room for a quick shower before being picked up by Juan for the dentist. They took some more impressions and worked on my gums preparing for the crowns and then I was finished for today.
After 2 hours I found myself walking around the largest mall in Cancun, not unlike any large mall in the US or Canada, Sears, C&A and all the various cell phone kiosks in the centre. Juan picked me up and we headed back to the Sea Adventure. Of all that has gone on this week, I find the hotel the lowest point, it is quite a distance away from everything and not at all on the Hotel Zone so the cost to get about is more than it should be. To take a Taxi anywhere it is a minimum of $8.00 US, and there certainly is no where near that you could walk to. This hotel is not the classiest to say the least, the staff are all wonderful and friendly it is the hotel itself which lacks a bit, it is old and getting to be a bit run down, but you get what you pay for and I was looking for inexpensive as I was coming mainly for the dentist and not a luxury vacation. In saying that I had a very strange experience today, I went down to the hotel buffet as usual for my lunch and discovered a BBQ taking place on the deck, when I went out to get some I was informed that it was only for the gold inclusive and not the blue (that would be me). Then I went to sit by the pool and discovered that some of the beach chairs now had been moved to an raised platform with the towels laid out and lovely gift baskets beside them, again for the gold inclusive..... it was a very strange. I just cannot imagine why anyone would come to this hotel to be a gold member, go to one of the better situated hotels in the zone and be conveniently located at a more updated place. Besides all that, the staff keep the hotel clean and tidy and they are always there to assist if you need anything at all. The food is very basic and just about the same everyday, but it is good and you can eat healthy so that is really all that is needed. Just to add interest to the dinner hour, every other day it seems there is a show across the road and dinner is moved there, quite literally it is the same dinner food just served in another location. I saw the Lion King the other night and this evening I am told it will be the spirit of Michael Jackson, I can hardly wait.
Tomorrow I have booked myself a snorkeling excursion for the morning and then will relax in the afternoon before going to the dentist again in the evening for my last appointment. Sunday finds me up early and heading to the airport, I spoke to Carlos today about booking a taxi at 7 AM.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb