Oaxaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
April 12th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Night TrainNight TrainNight Train

On the overnight bus to Oaxaca
The Ado overnight bus was a long 12 hour journey, but it went really fast.

The bus is fairly luxurious, plenty of room, complimentory drinks, and films, we watched Terminator 3 and Pirates of The Caribbean! I couldn't get to slepp however. We pulled in to Oaxaca as the sun began to rise, and got a taxi from the bus station to our hotel, arriving around 8.30am, and its now Tuesday 11th April. Most of the day was spent by me sleeping. Once caught up, I went around the City centre, and its quite a big place, 1 million population apparently. The main square is pedestrianised and is full of churches and very old looking buildings. It is a beautiful place, just very busy, cars and people down most streets.

For me, and if you are still bothering to read my blogs because of the sheer boredom (!!!), this place is nice, but more or less the same as most towns and cities visited on my trip. Once you've seen a few and done the possilbe activites in each place, they more or less become the same, and I'm now finding it hard to find new things, or even
OaxacaOaxacaOaxaca

If you like Cathedrals, then this is the place for you!
motivate myself a little. Thats not to say I'm fed up with being away, because I'm definitly not, just time for a change of culture/scenery now for me. Tired and hungry, I went for for a bite to eat, then back to the hotel to crash out once again. It is very hot however, and hard to sleep.

This morning I woke up, to find that all my friends are really ill. Sickness has broken out, people with bad guts, being sick, flu, incredible! But not me, Im feeling ok, tired, but ok, so hope that holds out!!! So I again decided to explore the town and find something of interest, which there probably are plenty of things here. So I walked for 2 hours, saw some beautiful churches, crammed markets selling pretty much anything, restaurant after restaurant, street after street. But no, its just not doing it for me, so I returned to the hotel and had another Siesta!

Tonight is our last night here, maybe I will eat alone as everyone is in bed sick, and wemove on tomorrow to our next town, which I forget the name of at the moment. For me its just a waiting game now, to get to the big one, Mexico City on Friday.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb