San Cristobal, Beetles Here, There and Everywhere!


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

San CristobalSan CristobalSan Cristobal

Main square in the town by the Cathedral
We left Palenque on Saturday morning, the 16th, and caught the bus to take us on to San Cristobal.

It again was a beautiful hot day, and the journey took around 5 hours. We checked in to the hotel, San Martin, which was close to the main square. The town is a pleasant place, there are many small streets, all cobbled, which many local run shops. The first thing to notice here is that almost every drives an old Volkswagen Beetle, I have seen a few around Central America, but they are here in abundance, and are very cool ( wouldn't mind getting one myself when I get home!! ).

I did the usual orientation walk around town and got my bearings, got some food, then went out with my friends around the bars in the night. Sunday I more or less did the same, my friends did a horse riding excursion, but it was similar to one I had done in Peru, so I hung around town, and that night I just stayed in the hotel, and watched tv, something I haven't done too many times since being away. I also bought the new Red Hot Chili Peppers
San CristobalSan CristobalSan Cristobal

View over the City
album to download on my Ipod, and as I did it, it accidently wiped all of my tracks off my Ipod, absolutely gutting, as for me my Ipod is vital for travelling!

Monday I decided to walk further around the City, to a beautiful church that overlooks everytrhing, to the shopping mall, which wasn't too impressive, and to the local market, which was very bustling and bright, and I bought a pretty cool hat for 40 pesos, around 3 English pounds.

We left the hotel at 7pm, and walked to the bus station for our next journey. This time it was for the overnight bus. I haven't travelled overnight yet on this tour, so I was looking forward to it. However, it was a big journey, 12 hours, to get to the City of Oaxaca.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

HerbieHerbie
Herbie

Whats he doing here!


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb