La Michuacana y El Orfanato


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!!! So a few interesting things have happened this week so I just thought I would take the time to share😊

In my Spanish class this week we took a little trip to the public university in Morelia, La Michuacana, just to see some of the differences between public and private schooling here in Mexico. We met up with one of my profs old students named Enrique and he showed us all around the campus and told us all about the school. It was really interesting because he was telling me that most students that go there still live at home and that they dont really provide dorms. They do have some student housing but the students who live there have to sign a contract that they will protest and rally against the government for more funding and they dont offer it to women, only men. Another thing that he told me was that they miss about 3 to 4 months of school out of the year because of protests and rallying. The university is government funded and the students only pay abour $100 dollars per term so they are always protesting for more $, but he said it was really hard to obtain a degree when you are hardly in school. Just some interesting stuff that makes me thankful for my education and school..

Another neat thing is that we went to an orphanage this week with the prof from my culture class just to hang out and spend time with the kids. It was so awesome! The orphanage is so poor but the kids are sooo happy...most of them have parents who come to visit them but they are there to be in safer more livable conditions. Most have siblings which is really good but a few are there alone. It was really amazing to see how they all take care of each other and how they are like one big family..it was so sweet. One of the girls in my group brought side walk chalk and the kids just went crazy!! They loved it! We drew all over the patio and then they began drawing with the dust on each others faces..and mine too..hahaha. One little girl attatched on to me and wouldnt let go the whole time..it is such a gratifying feeling to be able to conect with a child and it was so awesome to be able to communicate with her in spanish! We were teaching some of the little boys some phrases in English and it was so cute because he was going around and asking everyone how they were and what their name was just to practice. We are going back next Wed. and hopefully every wed. I am looking forward to developing relationships and being able to just be there and have fun with them..We might be setting up an account online where people can go on from anywhere and donate $...so if you are intersted let me know and I will keep you updated...more news to come later.

Miss you and love you all!!!! Adios!


Advertisement



18th April 2008

Great Journal
Hi, I just wanted to let you know that I am enjoying your journal. I am not a relative of yours, but I did an exchange in Cuernavaca in 2002. The Mexican family with whom I lived was originally from Morelia, so we went there for Semana Santa (spring break/holy week). I fell in love. In fact, I liked it even more than Cuernavaca. They showed me around to a lot of places there. I'm married and have a one year old now, but we're taking a trip down in August, so I've been doing research, reading up on folks who have been there recently. I would love to live there one day and have my son attend a bilingual school, so we will be scouting out opportunities when we come in August. Well, now that you know my life story :), I just wanted to tell you that you have a great journal and you are doing a great thing. And yes, there are people out there reading it, so please keep writing! Also, I would be interested in donating to the orphanage cause, so please let us know how you set that up. OK- take care!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb