Guanajuato


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Guanajuato
Hello all!! I know it has been a little over a week since I have written and so much has happened!!! Last week was pretty chill with not to much going on...But this weekend we went to Guajajuato and it was so beautiful. It was like a storybook and I loved every bit of it. We left on Satuday morning and arrived in Guanajuato about 1030ish. We checked into our beautiful hacienda style hotel and then took off to tour the city. First we walked to Alhóndige de Granaditas, which is now a museum but used to be where the Spaniards were stationed during the Mexican Revolution. Guanajuato was the city where Padre Hidalgo rang the bell to alarm everyone the the revolution was beginning and they broke into the Alhóndige to overthrow the Spainards. Now it is full of pre-colonial artifacts from the indiginous people of mexico and it was pretty amazing to learn about all of the history. It was kind of strange to think about the differences in our history from the US and to think how well we all have it engrained in our heads but this was something totally new and different which I loved!

Next we went to house where Diego Rivera was born, the famous Mexican muralist who I love! Only the downstairs was made to look like the house and the other two stories had a huge collection of his work. It was so amazing to be able to see so many of his paintings and sketches in one place. After that we headed over to the Teatro de Juarez which is a huge theatre there. It was all hand painted on the inside..absolutly beautiful, and kept in old fashioned style which I loved. I wanted to put on a big fluffy dress and go to the show..haha!

We visited the Universidad de Guanajuato which was also so beautiful!! I couldnt imagine going to a school with so much rich history and architecture! We also visited the Callejón de Beso or the kissing ally, where the legend says that a boy and girl fell in love but the father didnt approve because the boy was poor. The ally she lived on was so skinny that when the boy moved into the apartment across the way the they could each be on there own balconys but still be able to kiss. The father found out and was so angry that he killed his own daughter..pretty sad but interesting and definitly a tourist attraction. People pay money to go up to the third step of the alley to kiss for good luck.

Other than that we just walked around the city and shopped alot. We had really yummy food as always and just enjoyed the sights. Something interesting about Guanajuato is that there are no street lights. Most of the streets are in underground tunnels and the streets above are really small and not very much traffic goes on them. It is such a beautiful town that felt really authentic.

As far as me I am doing really well...It is so hard being away from my family and friends but it has been teaching me so much about who I am and really being independent. I am so content with where I am right now and I am so happy with everything that I have been learning. I feel like I have grown so much since I have been here and I know I have so much to go. Thank you for all your love and support from home😊

This week some exciting things are coming up so I will be sure to post all about it!! I posted some pics on myspace so everyone should check them out!!! Miss and love you all!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb