Settling In


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Morelia is an easy place to belong. Although I still feel awkward when I am whistled at when I walk down the streets, I am feeling more at home here: For two days now, I have navigated the city by myself. Taking Combis (perviously misspelled convis) as public transportation and walking everywhere. On Tuesday afternoon each US student was assigned a Mexican student to tour them around the city. I ended up in a group with two other Americans and three Mexican guides. We were able to communicate with a blend of our language skills. I went into libraries where all the books are so old that they are behind glass and you cannot check them out. I saw the actual real heart of Melchor Ocampos (the George Washington of Morelia) in an exhibit in, check this...a highschool. We walked thorugh a huge market where candies and crafts are sold (I plan to return there to buy souvinerers). Then the six of us ate tacos del pastor (so amazingly flavorful with onion, pineapple, salsa and marinated meat). I have been walking the streets after school with my American friends, eating helado and enjoying the manic weather of this city. It will be warm and sunny one moment and then thunder clouds will crowd the sky, lightening flashes and it pours rain. As I write it is raining outside. Tonight I am going to see some live music with my brother tonight (Wednesdays are party nights here in Morelia) and then this weekend I have been debating whether or not I should join the mob of students going to visit Patzquaro (an agricultural indigenous town near the city). I want to travel but I am not sure if I will get the same experience out of going with huge mobs of over 30 students. I´d rather go in smaller groups of five or so, so we can be less inconspicuous and live in the towns rather than invade them. On the other hand, I don´t want to feel left out or miss any important bonding. Any advice? Oh, and Rosanna and Cyn, to answer your question, my bro is a good looking guy, I think too short for either of you (5´7ish) I´ll post a picture. Well, missing you all. Be well. -C

Advertisement



21st June 2007

Yippee yayiyo kayiyeh
I am so pleased for you, my daughter. Just returned from Sacramento to get your phone call and emails. It sounds like you're having a grand time. Can you go out with the big pack AND the small groups? Do it all? Hope Schmoo is learning correct Spanish. Maybe she can teach me when you return. Stephan got his Wii- on EBay. Arrived in three days! Love you! MOM

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb