First Day of Clases


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so wow. I am writing from an internet place within in walking distance of my house. Yesterday, after my last entry I ran into a group of students and we all walked around for a bit together. If yesterday when I wrote, I was a little anxious I had a 180 degree turn around when I found other students and wasn´t alone anymore! We checked in with our program dicector, Miguel who is super awesome. He told us that there was a special celebration in downtown Morelia that night to celebrate the Cathedral and also told us some good places to eat. So, at eight, I walked with a literal mob of american students about ten blocks to la catedral. the police had blocked off the street, people were selling balloons and cotton candy and the lights in the cathedral were all dim. Then a loud speaker came on telling the history of the church while they played a light show dipicting the art and history of morelia. the whole celebration ended with a fireworks show and with each firework, a different part of the church lit up in colorful lights. It was a party to show the citys pride. I can´t think of any clebrations in the US that are centered around a community merely showing pride in themsleves (except fourth of july, and that only happens once, this happens regularly in morelia). Dinner, live Mexican music with the group after topped off the night.
TORMENTOS! I woke up in the night to a crazy thunder storm. I thought I had been dreaming but there was lightening illuminating the whole room and rain and thunder shaking the window frame. It was wild.
The next day I met my host family. I live with my señora, Rosa Maria and her two grown children, so have a 32 year old brother and a 29 year old sister. They are all great. I have my own nice room and share the bathroom with everyone. They have a phone in the house that I can recieve call at (email me if you want the number) and there is a public phone where I can call the US down two houses from me. It is so safe, walking distance from internet in a mall type plaza and four blocks from the bus stop to get me to school (although its not really a bus, I take convis which are like gutted out wv vans that sometimes 15+ people all cram in). The kids are great. They are busy with thier own jobs but they invited me out with them. Dilci, my sister, was going to the mall to pick up some clothes on hold and I went with her. Then Edgar took me for a car tour around the city and then introduced me to his best friends and we went to see a movie. We saw Shrek 3 dubbed in Spanish. It was wild because I understood most of it and so I almost forgot that I was in Mexico. I don´t think I´ll have prolems with the food. My señora made yummy pan fried chicken and carne asada with a salad with raspberry vinegrette and pasta with parmesean cheese for dinner. It was like something I would eat at home. The only difference was the flavors, it was all spicier made with a guacamole slasa. YUM.
Today we went to school. Only orientation, no classes but when classes do start, I am going to be so busy I don´t think I will be able to write much. I have about three essays due a week, on top of reading, and homework that mostly consists of interviewing local people and exploring the culture.
No more new news but I will be in touch (pictures to come I promise). Oh and by the way HAPPY BELATED FATHER´S DAY DAD! Be well. -C


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th June 2007

Hearing from You
I hope you will keep on writing blog entries, Chelsea, even as your work load gets heavier (no need for lengthy travelogues - short summaries will do.) It is such a pleasure "hearing from you" in this way! In loving and eager anticipation, Dad.
19th June 2007

32...y muy guapo?
Ok of course Rosanna and I want to know if your new "hermano" is cute or not...
19th June 2007

niche-ing!
oh hooray! I'm so glad you've niched! Sounds like your family's great and there's tons to explore. Much love, ~Emily

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb