Mexico after one week


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a grueling first week of school I was really looking forward to the weekend. I had decided to take advantage of the fact that my brother was going to the coast for buisness and tag along to go spend the weekend in Lazaro Cardenas, a beach town about three hours away. Katie decided to join me and so did one of Edgars friends. The four of us left on Friday night, arriving in Lazaro at 10ish. On the drive over I got a good look at the country that I am in. Morelia is surrounded by mountains, shrouded in fog and blue from a distance. After passing the mountains we drove through the aread of Uruapan (famous for its exportation of avocados and marijuana) it was so muggy and hot during the drive we stopped many times to buy bottles of water. When we arreived in Lazaro we rented two rooms in a hotel, grabbed some tacos and headed to the discotec. I don´t know what I was expecting but discos here are very different from clubs at home. People have a lot more respect for personal space on the dance floor, and by this I mean there if very little raunchy dancing. It was fun to just dance with Katie (since the boys claimed that the music was so bad they didn´t want to dance). To their credit, some of the notable songs of the night included Mambo #5, Vengaboys, La Bamba and the Tequila song. It was very funny. The next day after a breakfast of fruit, yogurt and honey Edgar dropped us off at the beach. Playa Azul is lined with restaurants where you can sit a table and just for ordering food or drinks enjoy relaxing in hammocks in the sand. It was awesome. Kate and I went swimming in the ocean, its much warmer and saltier than home. We walked down the beach collecting sanddollars and then slept in the sun in our hammocks, while enjoying the live music of traveling four man bands. I was so happy to have a relaxing day like that. Unfortunetly, I think that because of the climate changes, from hot hot hot outside to cool airconditioning inside I caught a cold. I am very sniffly and sneezy and feel tired and fluish. Luckily, mom packed my first aid kit full of wellness and vit-C and I am drinking
Comida de la PlayaComida de la PlayaComida de la Playa

Incluyendo mi agua de cocoa
lots of water. So today I slept in until 11 and am planning on doing some homework, watching the U.S v. Mexico final in the Copa de Oro (soccer) and going to sleep so I can feel better for school tomorrow. Stay tuned for pictures from playa Azul. Much love to all. -C


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

FishermenFishermen
Fishermen

This father and son duo was fishing with nets by hand all day. Check out the fishies!
Mi hermano y su amigoMi hermano y su amigo
Mi hermano y su amigo

My hermano mexicano (on left) and his buddy Willie
MéxicoMéxico
México

driving home, checking out the country side
Que BonitoQue Bonito
Que Bonito

Bonito, ¿no?


25th June 2007

Hola Mija!
Just got back from my trip and caught up with your entries. This sounds "tan divertido"(like so much fun) that I wish I was there.....expect for the "truenos y rayos" (thunder and lightining). Hope you're feeling better. Mija= little one. Slang for "mi hija".
25th June 2007

Pobrecita
Hope your cold passes swiftly. Sounded fun at the beach. I love you- MOM
25th June 2007

sounds awesome
I want to be there! It sounds so great! Keep filling us in about what is going on. Makes me long for a relaxing place like that! Sue

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb