Peanut butter cookies and deep fried sardines


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
September 20th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

just prettyjust prettyjust pretty

...no explication necessary
So I was in school for one full week (almost a record I think) after the conference. it was good to be back in PV, to see my friends, to be in my own room and not live out of a suitcase. School was fine all in all, although there are a couple things about school that I can live without (namely the crazy boys and the literal mountain of homework I accumulate). The homework really is ridiculous. I get a new assignment every day in almost every class, and the classes are only every two or thre days so the teachers give us big assignments to 'tide us over' until the next class. Not counting the homework I am missing this week while I am in GDL again, I have almost 20 different assignments between just 6 classes. So I am feeling very good about this... oh boy oh boy.... haha. It's true. Kristina Larkin is actually going to fail school. oh my....... ee!

So the whole week was covered in green, red and white. The National Holiday of Independence Day ' El Grito' took place this past weekend!!! ( The official day was the 16th.... but
Soaking wetSoaking wetSoaking wet

can you beleive it? We had only been walking around for 15 minutes!
most people only work a half day on Friday as well.... haha gotta love it) So, independence day, independence from what you ask? From the Spaniards that invaded Mexico in 1512, and continued to impose their culture and beleifs on the old and deeply rooted culture that had already developed. The Spanish Conquest had a CRAZY death toll, more than 19 million dead from the epidemics alone! Anyway, so Mexico was just sick and tired of the Spanish thinking they owned everything, so everyone made a plan to take back their country. The plan didn't get thought up until 1808, when good ol' power hungry Bonaparte declared his brother the king of Spain, (and with that the king of Mexico). With Spain on shaky ground, they figured now was a good time to pull the country out from under them. The plan was that the revolution would start on October 2nd, 1810, but when the plan was revealed early, everything got pushed up a bit. So on the morning of Sept. 16th, Padre Hidalgo rang the bell in his little church, along with some other conspirators (with names no one would prlly be able to pronounce so I wont even
MetateMetateMetate

This is the traditional way to grind corn to powder to make tortillas. It's really heavy, and made from volcanic rock! You need some serious pipes for this thing!
write them), and there we go! The war lasted 10 years, but finally Mexico was it's own country! All worth it in the eyes of Mexico.
¡¡¡ Viva Mexico!!!

So welcome back from Mexican History 101, haha. Oh, I'm so excited to teach Social Studies... Anyway, as for MY independence day, I had a blast. I went out with some friends to the Malecon, but wouldn't you know it? Mexico started their revolution right in the middle of Hurricane season! So basically we were DROWNED in rain from Hurricane Lana... really. It didn't stop POURING, didn't even let up at all for the entire day and night. It was just a ridiculous amount of rain! And since the sewer system here is rather old, there are no vents for the water to run into to drain the streets, so basically road=river when it rains. When we met up with some people right when we went out, our group had a few minors in it, so we couldnt really go anywhere, and by the time they left, we were all too wet to be let in anywhere. So we spent the whole night walking around in the rain,
Me and GabyMe and GabyMe and Gaby

What a cute little niña, ¿no?
taking pictures with statues, watching the fireworks, listening to 'el grito' (they redo the bell and the VIVA MEXICO yell everywhere.)... at first we weren't really doing anything, but I had changed my plans to be able to stay in PV for this, so I wasn't going to let it suck, so whenever it got slow, I'd be like, "and the NEXT fun thing we are going to do is....." Haha. I might have been annoying butwe all did have fun. haha. I'm just glad I didn't get a cold!

I almost forgot! Since they celebrate the whole week here, thursday night was Mex Night at the movies, where they only played movies made in Mexico, and it was only 10 pesos. So basically I went to the movies for a dollar. Rockin! It was an alright movie, but what really made my night was the little girl in front of us laughing. I was there with Olivia, and when the girl turned around to laugh at us, we would start laughing, then people would shush, and we just kept laughing because it was one of those laughs you just can't help, and then when you stop, you start again because it's so quiet. Anyway, we all went out for coffee after, and I was a little late for curfew because, again, it was pouring so hard Olivia and I didn't want to walk the 4 blocks to the car in the rain. But it wa ok with the fam that I just waited until it lighted up a little.

So we left Saturday for GDL, and here we are. So far here I have gone to a Food expo, had a CRAZY good french dinner there, and had another Family-Gathering-Food thing on sunday (really people, I need a name for that...I wasn't kidding). And also I went with Eduardo and Lupita to buy trees for the front of the house.

And as of today(Thursday) and tomorrow I am going to help out at the school of my 'cousin' Gaby who is 7. I really liked it today! I helped out with the 4 year old preschoolers. It reminded me that I really do want to be a teacher, but also that I want to be a teacher of older kids, haha. I like when they have the possiblity of being reasoned with. haha. And also the english thing is a bonus, but what can you do?

Anyway, I have taken up enough of your time, so peace out and love to all of you!!

PS : if your wondering about the name of the blog, I made my PB cookie recipe for Lupita and she really liked it. PB is not really that popular here, no one really uses it. And then as for the sardines, when we went to buy the trees we went to this town on the lake, which has its own malecon, and we bought sardines. They were deep fried, and I barely looked at it before I ate it, but once I did, I had crazy Spain flashbacks. The one and only time (well, before) I have ever eaten sardines. haha)

Advertisement



22nd September 2006

"Family Gathering-Food Thing"
Suggestion, in Ireland a family is a Clann, so perhaps a "Clann Gathering". Problem - it would make sense to every Irish person reading your blog but perhaps not anyone else though!! Paula x
23rd September 2006

MMM...PB Cookies
Haha...sound's like a wicked week especially with all the partying. So...yea I've really got nothing but I did have a weird day today...I kept having DeJaVu after the other...haha. Ummm...yea I got nothing else to add. P.S. 2 months till Baby J.J. is born and I swear on my soul thats what it is...:D

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb