Arrrrrrriba , ondelay!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
September 12th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

All the GDL(+PV) kidsAll the GDL(+PV) kidsAll the GDL(+PV) kids

This is all of us just before we left for the bus
Just got back from my very first Rotary Youth Exchange Conference! (Campemento Mazatlan to be exact... I have a t-shirt to prove it) It was definatly a good time... Ever get to suntan at a conference? ... yah.. I don't know what I did to get to live this kind of life, ha ha.

So I was in GDL the whole week before the conference, which means I missed the whole week of school. missing a whole week of school that you don't understnad = coming back and everything being exactly the same. haha. I have to figure out what I missed. I can hardly figure out what I didn't miss, but did in class! Ah well. I will do it. (duh duh duh daaaa.. super k.)

So Friday I left on the bus with all the other excahnge students from GDL, theres 11 of them. 4 from Brasil, 2 from Belgium, 1 from France, 1 from Japon, 3 from Germany and me. Since I am the only one in PV(which I say SOOO englishly by the way. I need to roll my r-s better.) The bus ride to Mazatlan is 8. thats right. EIGHT. ocho. the way
YEP Distritio 4150YEP Distritio 4150YEP Distritio 4150

All the people from the district, that we can fit into one frame that is!
down was good. sining along with the brazilian guitar, talking, meeting each other.

When we arrived, we were seperated into different host families,mostly Rotex (which means students that have already been on excahnge and are now back) I was with a girl that went to Germany last year. The family was really nice. Fun. And then after we got settled into the houses, all the students from the district got together for a little ice-breaker night. The kind where they put you all in the same area and you just go. And since we're all out going(or we wouldn't be excahnge students) we all met. There were SO many people. It was madness. And only 3 from Canada. 2 girls from Ontario. And Brasil had 16 or 17 people! Even Belgium and Germany had a bigger showing. haha Oh well. I think I made a good showing for Canada. You can all rest easy(the Canadians reading this I mean) I havn't completely ruined the good rep of Canada. Then after tacos, we went to a beach bar (only in mexico can you dance on the beach but still be in a bar. haha) After a whole day of having
The girlsThe girlsThe girls

This are the girls I'm better friends with out of the group. All from GDL (8 hours on a bus can make people friends pretty fast)
chopped conversations with people, we all had fun together. We all had a great time dancing. I love music for that. It doesnt matter what language it is!!

After getting in at 1 am, we all got up from 9 am breakfast, then off on a water taxi to an island beach. We settled in at a restaurant and then the chairmen went over all the rules and such for rotary, which include:
*no driving, no dating or 'sexual relations', no smoking if you said you didn't.
*no 'excess' of drinking. haha the actaul Rotary rule is no drinking but in Mexico it mutates into no excess drinking. haha good ol' Mexico.
*We are to be home before June 30th (I'll be home all summer!)
*Big 20 day trip to CANCUN and that side of mexico... a history trip, in april, as well as a few other small ones during the year.

Anyway, after we finished all the conference stuff, while sitting on a beach in our swimsuits ( i know, right?) ... we had the rest of the day to hang out on the beach. One girl got braids. one got a henna tattoo, we played in
Just after the banana boat. Just after the banana boat. Just after the banana boat.

This is all the girls who went on the banana boat,plus Bruno(brazil) who likes to be in the pictures
the big waves(Mazatlan has great beaches. no rocks, warm warm water, big waves because its not in a bay...), AND rode on the banana boat!! Its basically just a big long tube that you sit on and get pulled behind a speedboat. SOO fun. but its just made for 4 people, and there were 6 of us on there. So, as you can imagine, as we're speeding along (Arrrriba!! Ondulay!!) we fell off at least 4 times...(no mas tequila! says the driver. why have two different mexican people told me that while I was obviously sober in the past two months? haha) It was a very successful day at the beach, didn't get burnt. I'm so proud of me! I only burnt a little bit, once. I'm doing well.

So after the beach we all went out dancing again. Danced the night away.... again. haha. Until 3 this time. Man I love dancing. We were in Señor Frogs, and it was so crowded. that you have to dance on the tables and the chairs and the bar and the benches of the booths because you can't walk on the floor! And all the walls and everything have been signed in permanent marker, .... and I look over, and on the awning over the door to the bathrooms, what do I see ? but GO OILERS! And so I obviously proceed to attempt to explain to the guy I'm dancing with who the oilers are (one of the most famous hockey teams in Canada and the United States. haha. My provinces hockey team .haha. ). The guy probably thought I was drunk (I wasn't ps.)

And when I got back home, after ANOTHER 8 hour drive, and then a 5 hour bus home to PV, I had mail! I LOVE YOU SAIMA!..... AND i had a package waiting at the post office from home!! I love mail! I now have three letters! yay! Well on my way to a solid collection. (thank you saima, mama and bradon). I heart mail. Makes me so happy. Theres nothing like an actual letter. But I tell ya' I can't imagine how people lived with just that. The news is so old! No one would know anything! Ah well. I guess thats why life was slower. More time to react.

Oh, And I realized the other day that I haven't been keeping up with your spanish lessons! drunk = bela (es tu bela? say no, just to be safe) boyfriend = novio (tienes tu uno novio? say yes, just to be safe. haha)¿ donde vienes/eres? dounday vee-n-es/ air-es = where are you from?

That should be enough (sufficiente sou-fee-see-n-tay) for now....

Have a fab day... week... or whatnot! And in preparation from friday:
VIVA MEXICO!!!!!!
Happy independance day!!






Advertisement



13th September 2006

News is only old if you have heard it before
Hi Kristina; the reason the news is so old now in old fashioned letters, is that we are an instant society; so we write the letter then speak to you in the same day! Craziness. Back in the day on the Prairie, the letters would have been the only news...how did we live without emails, texts, blogs and MSN. I am not sure how we survived. Keep watching for the mail! I love the blogs, and the photos are great! I am glad that you are 18, and is that legal drinking age in Mexico? and is there a drinking age in Mexico? and is Canada the only restrictive society about drinking?! Enjoy the Irish in You. Make good Choices!
13th September 2006

Hhhmmmmm......
It sounds like a hoot! Lots of new faces for you to meet too. (Isn't there anybody from Ireland there?? At all...??!!) anyhoo, glad to see your having lots of fun and working on that tan! Love to you from us, all the Stratties. p.s. Happy weekend again. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
13th September 2006

i love kristina!
I love how similiar our conferences were!..Aside from the ocean...and the banana boat, and the bikinis...alright they were pretty different! but asides from all of that mexiconess they were the same! And my district is full of people from Brazil as well! Those Brazillians... Oh and I am so jealous about the mail!
14th September 2006

Waaaah!! Your conference sounded like it was awesome!!! We only have 6 of us in our district here... so yeah, not quite as wild... School's sorta the same here; all I do is copy stuff off of the board or doodle... it's cute though when everyone tries to explain something - they whip out their electronic translators and all crowd around, pointing at the screens... anyhoo, love your pictures!! And your updates...! Have fun! (that sounds so dumb but I hope you do, anyways)

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb