for the love of languages.....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
September 29th 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fiesta MéxicanaFiesta MéxicanaFiesta Méxicana

Me, Florence (France), Jozephine, and Laure (both from Belgium), rockin out at the birthday party
Where did I leave off:

The two school days I spent at Gaby's school went well. It was definatly nice to being something that might even appear to be useful (I did hand out dry pasta and glue after all).

Friday night was a really fun night ! I went out with some of the other students from GDL, and we all went to this birthday party for a friend of a past exchange student. Yah, that was kind of complicated, but the jist of it is, went to a party. The way Mexico does parties (if the birthday person is priviliged enough) is in a very big way. They rent out party spaces and set up a big tent with tables and chairs, and a dj and usually either live mariachi or banda music. This time it was banda. And banda has it's own dance, so I learnt that, thanks to some guy that I made teach me. Since I was hanging out with the other exchange students, and none of US knew how to dance to it, I of course had to go meet someone else. So there was this group of guys and I just went
supporting the colorssupporting the colorssupporting the colors

One fantastic game....
over and asked who knew how to dance to this and was going to teach me?(I love being able to speak spanish now. haha). There were so many people at this party, and I asked the guy who invited us how many people the host actually knows, and he just shrugged and said, maybe half? Mexicans are so open, everyone you meet just invites you over, or to a party they are having. There's always an invatation. And a good show! There was also a guy that played with fire! Like the kind on a string, know what I mean ? So I learned how to banda dance a bit, danced a lot to normal music, ate some tacos (of course), and basically had an all around good time. I love going out...

The next morning came very early, and it came dressed in pink. Norma, Gaby and I went to a baby shower for her 'directora', her principal. I luckily had an extra little stuffed Canada bear, so I wrapped it up in pink and gave that to her, how convinent hey? After we ate breakfast, I just took Gaby to play inthe park and let Norma have
The PV familyThe PV familyThe PV family

Lupita, me, and Eduardo, in front of the Los Arcos and the church
a morning with some adults for a change.

That night, off with the other two family members! Juan, Juan Pablo and I went to the ATLAS game. YO AMO EL FÚTBOL!!! seriously, I'm moving back here, simply for the fútbol. Tie game, 1-1, and some seriously good skill going on.

Sunday we got back to Puerto Vallarta, which I love a million times more every time I come back. It's so wierd, I have completely settled in now. I feel so at home, and coming back into Puerto Vallarta feels the same as (this if for your travelers out there) when you've been out of the county and you fly back into your home country or city. It feels like your home...

Then it was back to school on monday, and this is where the surprise comes in. It was midterm week. Oh, what joy school brings me!!! Started out with contabilidad, accounting. Then came the rest in one big windfall. With so many subjects the only way to fit all the exams in is to do them by twos, so I had 2 exams a day for the whole week. The bright side (yes, of course I found one 😉 was that when we were done the exams we could leave. So after one exam I went to the beach, and it was so ... like a movie. We just swam for a bit, then sat around on the body boards and ate chips, and Jésus tried to teach us how to play his bongo/drum thing. Random trips to the beach just make my day...

Exams went.... well... they were exams. The only exams I actually finished in their entirety were English and Math (because numbers are numbers right?) and most of Biology. I have no idea when I'll get the results, but I'm not really keen on seeing them. I guess what happens happens. I've decided not to stress out about them, so I hope they dont kick me out for failing first semester!

Wednesday I got to go to the Rotary meeting of my host club. I really like going to meetings. The people are really nice. And since I haven't been since about the 3rd day after I got here, I wow-ed them with my spanish skill. We exchanged banners, ate food(of course), and I met a few new people.
Random trips to the beachRandom trips to the beachRandom trips to the beach

Boogies boards, drums, ocean and friends. What more could a girl ask for?

Friday afternoon I had my very first spanish class!!! I am taking them at a spanish learning center (there's tons here, since it's so touristy, and popular for retirees and the like). I'm actually very proud of my spanish learning ability. The teacher was impressed, given how many classes I had taken in Canada, and how long I have been here. So that makes me happy. I like being able to be understood. And I'm a lot more fun and myself now that I can speak more. Man, when your someone who really likes to speak, it's AWFUL not being able to. I hope I never become mute, knock on wood.

Friday night I went to the house of a rotarian, Lulu, and hung out there with her two sons and their friend. We had so much fun! We just hung out and ate for a bit, then went to the pool for a few hours, but it was really good. Super nice guys, and a super fun time. And guess what they had on their floor in the middle of the room, instead of a table. It was just these two pieces of material laid down, covered in
Club Rotario de Puerto VallartaClub Rotario de Puerto VallartaClub Rotario de Puerto Vallarta

This was at my second Rotary Meeting, and we exchange flags. I have theirs on my jacket.
sand, with candles and shells and driftwood and rocks. It was so cool! When i have a house, totally doing that.

Saturday was a bbq at Olivia's friend's house. She's 18 and lives in Spain with her grandparents, but is here to do some paperwork so she can be Spanish, and buy her own apartment there. Wicked fun hey? Anyway, after a few good solid games of twister (right hand on the green pepper, and thats no word of a lie), cake and good dominican cooking(she's originally dominican), it was back home to get ready to go out dancing. Went out with some friends to a lounge, then Carlos O'Brians for some dancing. Man o Man do I love dancing.

whew..... well I should prlly either par down the info I tell you , or write more frequently. This is getting kind of nuts. And thank you to Auntie Paula for naming the Food-Family-Gathering thing. I like the idea, but yes, since it's México, I'm just going to modify it a little. So now, when I write, Gathering Familial (of the family), thats what it means, ok? excellent. Snaps for Auntie Paula.

So peace to all of
Lulu's boysLulu's boysLulu's boys

Lulu's boys on either side (Leo and Jorge), striped shirt guy is Alex, and you all know me :) They were funny,nice and complimented my spanish and freckles so they're good in my books!
you, Paz (pass). Love you all bunches... (ps, when I buy more batteries for my camera, there will be pictures.)



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Leo and MeLeo and Me
Leo and Me

Leo is one of the Rotarian's sons.
LamburghiniLamburghini
Lamburghini

Yah, so there was this fancy fancy lamburghini driving around on the cobblestones and potholes (I'd be scared to do it) so I just had to take a picture. That's why you buy that car right? So 3 teen girls in a car will take your picture?


2nd October 2006

so did
you get the paz from me or did you know it before me? haha it's good you can speak now and that you can be you - always a good thing - tu eres la chica mas hermosa que yo se! haha I just know it off by heart now! te queirro!
4th October 2006

mmm mmm beaches!
definatly jealous of the ease of spanish! and the beach! man o man, sounds like you are having a blast, carry on and learn some mexican dancing and i think i have to learn some hungarian folk dancing (doesnt sound as fun i know), so then when we both go home we can have a dance off!
4th October 2006

My word
Have finally figured out this blog thing. Good work on your part in keeping us updated about your Mexican life. We live vicariously through you!! Just figured out I read your blogs backwards but will do better in the future (we older folks don't catch onto this high falutin' techie stuff as quickly as you young people). One of your first pictures showed you jumping into the ocean and there was a house in the background. If I do not miss my mark (which I do quite regularly) that house is where Night of the Iguana was filmed. You are aware, no doubt, that PV is where Burton and Taylor continued their new affair after the filming of Cleopatra was finished. They put the little sleepy village of PV on the worldwide map. Have you seen the house they bought yet? I know every one of our Rotary exchange students has an awesome time whereever they go but I must say, the sight of the ocean and the sand made my heart turn over. Speaking of which, we finally got our first significant frost two nights ago. Quite late for us. We are having a marvelous fall. Try teaching the Mexicans about frost. Keep dancin' and don't sweat the school stuff. Drink it all in. Deeply. With tinges of green-eyed envy, but wishing you all the best, Susan Bottern

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb