Guanajuato: the Disneyland of Mexico!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Guanajuato StreetsGuanajuato StreetsGuanajuato Streets

my feet get tired just thinking about them
What a perfect way to spend the weekend after midterms. We are now half way done with the program and after finishing two days of four hour long testing periods my whole group deserved a rest. This weekend in Guanajuato was a blast. My Sociology professor called this town the Disneyland of Mexico because it is so touristy and he was right, but that did not diminish the beauty and charm of this town. Granted, we could walk down the streets without worrying about cars, since the roads are mostly closed off to autos, all the while being serenaded by roving bands of singers dressed in black velvet outfits who we took to calling the ‘Capulets’. We stayed in a hotel for about six US Dollars per person per night and were able to spend the rest of our money on museum entry fees and the best, let me repeat, best street tacos EVER!. I spent Saturday wandering the winding hills of Guanajuato (which means someting like land of the frogs) trying to find the museums, conveniently tucked into twisted allys. The Alhondiga Museum used to be an grainery that was used during the Mexican war for Independence as a Spanish fortress. The story goes that the rebel leader Hidalgo sent one brave man, now nicknamed el Pipila, to burn down the wodden gates of the fort so that they rebels could enter. So he strapped a stone slab to his back to protect him from enemy arrows and burnt the gates down. The first victory for the Independence! Inside the museum we saw an amazing mural depicting the struggle to liberate Mexico and lots of artifacts from prehispanic times to today. We also went to the Diego Rivera museum where there is a lot of his less well known art, no murals, but no less amazing. That man really new how to draw. I got to see the progression of his art and it seemed that he started playing with more abstract art once he mastered the human form and got bored (and we saw a nude of Frida Kahlo too). The Museum of Iconography was the last one we went to and I think it was my favorite. Over 15 rooms are dedicated to works of art inspird by the book Don Quixote. It was amazing to see how one tale can inspire such different and innovative art
Me underneath el PipilaMe underneath el PipilaMe underneath el Pipila

"There are still more Alhondigas to burn"
(everything from watercolor to abstract metal statues). I bought the book in Spanish and am looking forward to reading it. On Saturday night we went to a classical guitar performance in el Teatro. We got there early enough to get a box seat! The museum is so old, beautifully classic and I felt transported back in time. I felt like I needed opera glasses and a fan so that I could spy on people in the other boxes and gossip. All the touristy and cultural things we did were great but it was mainly nice to be ale to hang out with friends and not worry about school. Now I am back in classes ad back to work. This week I have two essays due and the subject for both is Guanajuato (its history and culture), which is nice and starightforward. Just to let you know, Mom and Dad, I got my midterms back and you'll be happy to know that I am maintaining my gpa. I am very very excited because Tim is flying to Morelia on Thursday to spend the weekend with me. YAY! I am thinking about everyone at home, especially Lucky who is getting ready to
El Teatro JuarezEl Teatro JuarezEl Teatro Juarez

in the main square with some art
go to Japan! Good luck buddy. Just remember: brajao kimasen (eek, spelling?). Now I am more than halfway through with the program and am already getting sad about leaving but also missing y'all at home, so don't be shy, send me a note and let me know how life is back in the States.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

GuanajuatoGuanajuato
Guanajuato

makes you think of Disneyland, no?
El Mercado El Mercado
El Mercado

Dulces in another amazing Mercado
Schmoo comes out to eat pan dulceSchmoo comes out to eat pan dulce
Schmoo comes out to eat pan dulce

Breakfast with Chris, Schmoo, Hilary, Katie and Katie


25th July 2007

Taco time
Nice tacos chels!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb