Now that my blogs are back the boycott will end...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
August 15th 2007
Published: August 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To all my loyal travelblog fans I apologize! I have not updated in so long because the site has been down (most of my blogs were lost, now they are back YAY). I was sad. Also, school is nearing and end and things are getting hectic here. I have been writing essays up the wazoo and doing group presentations every week. Lots of work! The weekends have been amazing though. I have sooo many pictures and so much to say that the details and descriptions will not be able to say how awesome these last weekends.

Three weekends ago, Tim came and visited me and we had some really fun adventures. After comida with my family (which was amazing chicken mole and uchepos-tamale like things that are sweet-) we took a bus out to Uruapan on Thursday to find that there was a yearly town fiesta. It was really hard to find a hotel for cheap so we only stayed one night and on Friday we visited the volcano. This volcano erupted in the 40s when a farmer was digging in his field, it covered two towns. We rode horses for three hours out there, climbed the massive thing and then sprinted down the almost vertical slope of volcanic ash to get down and ride three more hours back. Needless to say, we were exhausted! The next days we spent in Morelia, doing fun touristy things, seeing the fireworks and an organ concert in the cathedral. I was really glad to have someone see the world I am living in down here and share it with them. Tim liked the tacos, of course.

The next weekend I took a crazy day trip with three other friends to Teotihuacan, near Mexico City to see the ancient pyramids. I got to walk up the second highest pyramid in the world and imagine what the society might have looked like over 2000 years ago when the ruins were first built. We came back to Morelia in time to see the first game of the Monarcas football team. We didn't lose, only tied, but had to try very hard to suspend our disbelief that our home team does not totally suck (which it kind of does).

Then the next fun and exciting weekend I had planned to go to Mexico City (DF, for Distrito Federal) but decided that I didn't need a stressful weekend watching my back and making sure my bags didn't get stolen so I went to the beach instead. A group of 5 other girls from my program headed out to Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa. Ixtapa is a swanky resort town and Zhihua is the more affordable town right outside it. We stayed in Zihua in the unbearable heat and humidity, but were able to escape the oppressive heat by going snorkeling! We took a boat out to a smaller snorkel beach and I wish I had had an underwater camera to show you all the neat fishies saw! It was a great weekend to relax, swim and go parasailing (something I never thought I would do in my life).

Now I have one weekend left in Mexico before finals and the I head back home. This trip has been one of the most fantastic experiences in my life. I made amazing friends, learned a new language and saw a side of a country that most US Americans never will understand. Mexico is a country rich in culture, history, resources, and some of the most welcoming people I have ever met. I am so glad to be able to know it.

Things I will miss: paletas (popcicles), pan dulce, fresh tortillas, food, putting limes on everything, cheap beer, hearing Spanish on the radio, my novela Destilando Amor, friends, discos, rainstorms...and so much more. Things I will not miss: being whistled at on the streets, the smell of Morelia in the morning after rain, not having to carry my own toilet paper with me everywhere. Well friends, thank you for sticking with me throughout my journey. Again, I am sorry about the the travelblog mess up and my rejection of the site as revenge. Imagine me this weekend studying for finals, going to another Monarcas game (against Chivas) and getting last minute gifties for all of you. Wish me luck in studies and travels and I can't wait to see you all when I get home. Much Love, Chelsea



Advertisement



16th August 2007

love your Blogs
Chelsea, Thank you for taking the time out of your incredible journey to give us back home a peek into your world there. For those of us who have not had the good fortune to see the sites outside the U.S. I am grateful for your communication, and sharing a bit of your journey! I can't wait to see your beautiful face at Christmas time! Love you! Amanda
16th August 2007

One weekend left???
We miss you Chelsea! So glad that your trip has been fantastic.
18th August 2007

good luck
Good luck on the final. Thanks for taking time out to tell us all about the fun stuff. I have really enjoyed reading your blogs. mags

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.8kb