¡Viva México!


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I flew out of Singapore and 30 hours later I arrived in Mexico City. By the end of the trip I was feeling pretty bad. Someone probably gave me the avian flue or swine flue. I spent a couple days in bed in Mexico City and finally decided that I had to get up and start seeing the city. I wasn't sure if I was sick or still jet lagged but I didn't have much energy. Mexico, like most other ex Spanish colonies have a million churches. I saw a few, but never went out of my way to see any more. Other than that the old part of the city was very nice. Much better than I was expecting. It was clean and there were a million police officers so I felt relatively safe, just as long as I didn't think why a city would need so many police officers.

I went and saw Teotihuacan, Mayan ruins, maybe an hour outside of the city. They were a nice change from all the pagodas I had been seeing in Asia. When I got there the place was nearly empty. I asked why and they said it was because the day was Monday. The Lonely Planet says the place is closed and all the locals come on the weekends. I met up with some people from Argentina and we hired a guide for a few dollars each to tell us about the place. The first hour I had no problem understanding the guide then my mind became tired from trying to understand the Spanish so I lost interest about half way through. Even with that it was a great experience and I am glad I got a guide, otherwise it was just stone buildings.

My one regret was that I didn't see the Tequila Museum, they let you have free samples of all different types of tequila, according to my taxi driver I took from the airport. I enjoyed Mexico City and didn't notice the pollution in the air that everyone talks about. Maybe it was just the right time of year, or maybe after China toxic waste seems clean.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb