Bungee Jumping


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec
July 28th 2009
Published: July 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think bungee jumping is going to become one of my regular hobbies.


The rush of falling and accelerating was insane I was frozen in the moment and in complete awe of what was happening. It was like flying, I wasn't scared at all, it was like the world was coming towards me. It was a pure rush, no fear no distraction just positive energy. The splash kinda brought me back my senses.

Well I guess i should start at the beginning, I have always wanted to do bungee jumping more so than sky diving, my first experience with it was watching people jump at West Edmonton mall, a whopping 50 feet I think, but it still looked like a blast. In preparation for this Ottawa trip I pondered things that Marie my gracious host and I would both find unique and memerable. Bungee totally met the requirements.

We booked a through www.bungee.ca which is in Wakefield a short 30 minute drive form downtown Ottawa, thankfully Marie thought to call them as we were able to get the last spot. If you're interested in doing this yourself be sure to book a week in advance we really lucked out. The place was easy to find and quite beautiful, the 200 foot jump was rather intimidating when we drove up, but everyone was having fun there. Customer service at the site was good and the three of us Marie, her friend Julie and myself all chose a $150 dollar package with a tshirt and DVD.

So we watched and signed wavers for a bit then they weighed us and wrote it in permanent marker on our hands lol. After a brief walk up the hill or rather a grueling death march we arrived at the crane and were fitted with harnesses. There was a scared kid ffrom Elsalvador in front of us, he was kicking and screaming the whole way down, but looked like he had fun none the less. Marie and Julie went first both screamed but had a good time, you have the option of a body harness or ankles, Jule and I chose ankles Marie chose a the body harness.

So it was pouring rain and my turn to jump, they have a special rope for people my size, and the different jump masters were all arguing about what setting to use for me I assume it is somekind of length they add to it. The settled on 12 I think it was and tied me in, Counted to 5 and away i was for fall so awesome. Once done I was picked up in a dingy and brought back to shore. the girls enjoyed my goofy esque shout while I jumped.

Overall good times, now lets see if I can embed my youtube of the video:



link maybe





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



7th July 2009

Yes!!
Yes, that was an excellent idea... definitely a LOT of fun.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb