Karma.....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Beaupré » Mont-Sainte-Anne
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm really sorry for this but I hadn't really planned on writing another travel blog until I had some more new photographs and some more interesting stories for you however events have actually overtaken me so I felt the need to write now!

Anyway this week is another boring week of skiing and working our way towards our level 1 exam. We have been told that our exam is to take place next Tuesday so everyone is now starting to stress and worry (me included!). The past couple of days have been further ski improvement and teaching practice however I seem to have become Calamity Jane for the week and lost my ability to ski and think!!

On Monday we went through the easy forest run and I "kissed" a tree - meaning I turned, wasn't looking and my right shoulder/arm collided with a tree causing me to wipe out. What was most embarrassing was that I did this right in front of Marie-Eves mother whilst she was instructing a young child. Don't worry I wasn't hurt nor, for once, do I have a bruise to show for my incident. I then ended up on the chair lift with Marie-Eves mother and I nearly took her out when getting off the lift - Marie-Eve just looked at me and asked me what was going on. I think her mother know thinks I'm a bit of a liability and loon which she wouldn't be too far off in thinking!!

Yesterday was another frustrating day for me the first run we did hadn't be groomed so it had loads of moguls (bumps) and I fell a couple of times which put me in a bad mood and then we were taken down one of the harder tree runs which we haven't done before and I completely lost it and fell over a stupid amount of times. About half way down I lost my temper and started throwing my poles around and swearing my head off (sorry Mum!)... the next time I fell I so wanted to sit there and cry but knew that Marie-Eve was stood further up the run waiting patiently for me - needless to say the dummy was well and truly spat out and thrown on the floor. However my bad mood just made my skiing worse and so I kept falling. Anyway I survived and
Multi massageMulti massageMulti massage

I was sat at my computer sending an e:mail and ended up with Sam giving me a head massage, Guy giving me a shoulder massage and Nicky massaging Guy!!
have no other injuries to report I am just hoping that today will be a more successful day for me.

The week is more skiing and more teaching practice. Unfortunately for the boarders their exam is a three day assessment which goes over Friday, Saturday and Tuesday so our activities are being planned around them for the weekend. Friday is once again our day off so we are all planning on going out onto the mountain for the day and practicing for our exam. Pat and Marie-Eve have confidence in us we just don't have it in ourselves at the minute. Friday night we are off to a spa in the hope that it will make us all relax and forget about skiing/ snowboarding. Saturday will once again be practice on the mountain and then Saturday night we have been invited to a "dinner" at the ski school with all the other instructors. Not sure how this works however we have been promised food and drink so we are going......

Sunday we are having a complete day off and heading into Quebec as their is a big winter carnival. The carnival is spread out over two weeks however we are going down to see what is happening. From what we understand the streets will be full of different activities and they have built ice sculptures, an ice hotel and there are lots of other activities within the parks going on all the time. There are also ice canoe races across the St Lawrence river so think we are going to watch some of them. Am sure I will have lots of photos again by then.

Anyway I am sure you maybe wondering why I called this blog karma well it seems karma came and hit me in the backside - literally!!! Last weekend there was a coach load of Montreal University students staying in the chalet next door unfortunately the connecting door between our chalets is right by Marie-Eves and my room and since some of the students were staying downstairs in our building they noise was quite bad on both Friday and Saturday night however eventually we taught them that the connecting door didn't need to be left ajar so long as they unlocked it. Sunday night after they had all left Marie-Eve and I decided to go and have a look around the chalet and see if there was anything else we needed that we could "acquire" (don't panic it is all owned by the same person and they keep robbing their other chalets every time we ask for things). Anyway we acquired a mirror for our bedroom, a whisk and an all important corkscrew so I can now open my bottle of wine after this I decided to investigate the bedrooms upstairs. As I as coming down the stairs mid conversation I slipped and fell with an almighty thump and tumbled to the bottom of the stairs where I promptly started rolling around and moaning. Marie-Eve came running over and the conversation went along the lines of:
"Andrea, are you ok? What happened? What have you hurt? Do I need to call an ambulance?"
"mumble.... mumble..... groan"
"Andrea?"
"I've broken a finger nail!"
At this point Marie-Eve just burst out laughing and ended up bent double with tears streaming down her eyes, like most of you out there this was the last thing that Marie-Eve had ever expected me to complain of bearing in mind I'm not really a girly girl. To be fair by this point I was also laughing but just knew that my finger was hurting me as was my backside. It was decided that my fall was karma for us going robbing the chalet.

Anyway we duly vacated the chalet with our goods and for the rest of the night I was complaining that I had broken my right bum cheek as it was killing me. Monday morning I woke up to a nice healthy bruise on the bum cheek but no other signs of damage although I was fully aware of the bruise when sitting or lying down.

Yesterday however I discovered another sign of my fall I now have a complete and dead straight line bruise across the mid section of my back and its about 8" long and 1/4" wide. I showed it to Marie-Eve , who is currently always impressed with my bruising ability, and she promptly demanded to see the one on my backside and didn't care how ugly my backside is. Needless to say much hilarity followed after showing her my bum as I can honestly say you have never seen a bruise like it as it is actually the size of my hand, bright purple and looks seriously nasty!!!! It was duly agreed that I had a reason to be complaining that my right bum cheek felt like it was broken. i am however currently concerned as we are off to the spa which will require me to wear a swimming costume and whilst I'm sure the majority of the bruise will be covered I am sure some of it will be exposed.......... hmmmm nice and embarrassing for me.

I don't know what has happened to me out here but I seriously do seem to have become very accident prone. Am just hoping that it continues to be minor accidents with no serious consequences other than a bruised body and ego!

Anyway now to the important part of this blog and one of the main reasons for writing earlier than planned which is to make a few specific and special shout outs to some people:

Happy Birthday Elizabeth for Saturday sorry I can't make your party but I promise I really can't make it home for the day but we will celebrate when I'm back in April with at least an O'Neills Cajun Chicken Sandwich but hopefully a night out.

Good luck to Jacob for your Christening on Sunday. Sorry I can't be there but once again it is too far for Auntie Andrea to come for a weekend. I hope that Uncle Bud and Auntie Tracey do their official duties by you and don't abandon you for a year like I have your sister!! I'm looking forward to seeing the photos and am sending you a big hug and kiss.

H please say a big hello to everyone from me at the christening including your Mum and Dad, Sarah (tell her she has to do double the amount of godmotherly duties with me away!!), Auntie Helen (please remind her that I am still not a big Cliff fan and that he was definitely miming to one of his songs at the concert) and obviously hello to Uncle Barry.

Big hugs and a huge kiss for Jessica.

An early Happy Birthday to Steve I hope that you wife and children look after you.

Get well soon Rachel - am glad the operation went well and maybe you can now start planning some holidays?!?

Just for Lucy I want to say hello to Ramsbottom Interact and all because I'm not there I haven't forgotten you!!

Deirdre it is now only 89 days till we hit South America (but I'm still refusing to wish my life away)

Lots of love to Mum, Dad, Tim and Jane just to show I haven't forgotten you in this list (although I have spoken to you all recently)!!!

After that I want to obviously say hello to everyone that is bothering to read this travel blog and huge apologies if I'm boring you... if I am just stop reading it!!! =;0)



Advertisement



4th February 2009

Not sure..
Still think you can make it here and back again in a weekend if you really tried, but oh no, you go and see your ice scupltures.... always thinking about yourself ;o)
4th February 2009

I have passed the messages on.... Jessica still thinks this is a very big holiday, Jacob not too bothered to be honest!!Ha! Speak soon X

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb