East Coast Summer Trip (Toronto, Ontario) Day 4 2005


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 6th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Royal Ontario MuseumRoyal Ontario MuseumRoyal Ontario Museum

Lion greets us at the ROM enterence.
Day 4!

After a few freak-outs I think I am starting to grow fond of our crappy hostel. Its got character plus its cheap and serviceable. I only wish it had some AC!

Today's activities included an outing at the Royal Ontario Museum to see mummies, fossils, and artifacts and then a quick spur of the moment jaunt to the Toronto Islands.

The Royal Ontario Museum (or ROM for short) is a nifty place. I especially enjoyed the Egyptian section with a cat mummy. I want to mummify my cats now and throw a grand funeral for them. They are definitely worth it! There were also fossils everywhere and a mirror I especially liked for some reason. My only problem is that we went though it too quick. Oh and this kid kept trying to fight me over the armor. Guess who won? 😉

Afterwards we decided to take the ferry out to the Toronto Islands. Its a nice park and completely unexpected! There are plenty things to do there. I kept telling myself I needed to plan a longer stay in Toronto for next time. The ferry out was exciting too and it offered great views
ROM CeilingROM CeilingROM Ceiling

Is this Byzantine in style?
of the Toronto skyline with the CN Tower and stadium.

We've also met an English couple who have been friendly with us. They are our next door neighbors at the hostel and were also freaked out upon arrival too. We've had great conversations with them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Virgin MaryVirgin Mary
Virgin Mary

One of the many Virgins we saw at the museum.
Madonna of the Long FaceMadonna of the Long Face
Madonna of the Long Face

There were Madonnas everywhere!
Mirror PortraitMirror Portrait
Mirror Portrait

Tony and I taking a picture via mirror.
Totem PoleTotem Pole
Totem Pole

The poles are next to the grand staircases.
'Sup?!'Sup?!
'Sup?!

Hanging out at the Egyptian tombs.
Cat Mummy!!!!Cat Mummy!!!!
Cat Mummy!!!!

Somewhere out there, a kitty's soul is in distress.
Epytian RelicEpytian Relic
Epytian Relic

I remember seeing this in one of my history/art books and I wonder if it is the actual relic or just a copy.
Ancient ArmorAncient Armor
Ancient Armor

Playing with armor at the museum was fun, until some snotty kid started fighting me for it.
Flock of BirdsFlock of Birds
Flock of Birds

Stuffed birds in flight.
Moose!Moose!
Moose!

Moose are HUGE!
An The Award For Creepiest Creature Goes To...An The Award For Creepiest Creature Goes To...
An The Award For Creepiest Creature Goes To...

Its hand looks like its about to cop a feel.
Ferry To the Toronto IslandsFerry To the Toronto Islands
Ferry To the Toronto Islands

The skyline is awesome.
CN TowerCN Tower
CN Tower

Rises high above the clouds.
Toronto SkylineToronto Skyline
Toronto Skyline

My favorite view of Toronto.
JettyJetty
Jetty

Rock jetty at the beach on Lake Ontario.
Lake OntarioLake Ontario
Lake Ontario

The boat in the far background completes this picture.
Lake Ontario #2Lake Ontario #2
Lake Ontario #2

A nice picture.
Chair Lift PortraitChair Lift Portrait
Chair Lift Portrait

I think that's what they are called right? Its a great way to get a look at the park.


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb