East Coast Summer Trip (Toronto, Ontario) Day 3 2005


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 5th 2005
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Casa LomaCasa LomaCasa Loma

I could live here, sure.
Day 3

After a sweltering night at the hostel we decided to head on over to Casa Loma. It’s a great place to go. Lots of rooms and antiques and its great fun to just walk around and pretend you could actually live there (Hmmm this would TOTALLY be my cat relaxation room!) The grounds were just as impressive.

Toronto is a nice city to vacation in. Already I am starting to get a feel for the subway but the food still hasn't arrived. I keep thinking I will find Canadian cuisine but I don't think it exists! So far the slices of pizza and the sandwich wraps are what has kept us going.

Later that day we headed to the CN Tower in downtown Toronto. It is TALL! It easily dominates the skyline and after an hour of waiting we were finally on our way up by elevator. That in itself was scary. I've told you all about my fear of heights and being up here really sent chills down my spine. It got even worse when Tony saw the glass floor and just went, "Oh there's the glass floor" and walked on it.

It took me a full hour to get the nerve to go up and even then I had to find a little nook to hold on to. Still the experience was thrilling! But I was glad to head back to solid ground.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ChandelierChandelier
Chandelier

I kept waiting for it to fall.
Cool AtriumCool Atrium
Cool Atrium

The designs are cool.
Armor!!!!Armor!!!!
Armor!!!!

I miss the armor wearing days of yore.
Attic!Attic!
Attic!

I love attics, I want to stuff them full of crap and treasure.
Self-PortraitSelf-Portrait
Self-Portrait

Up in the attic looking for ghosts.
On A TurretOn A Turret
On A Turret

I feel like I should be speaking to the masses about how much they love me.
Casa LomaCasa Loma
Casa Loma

Some rich guy's dream home.
CN Tower ViewCN Tower View
CN Tower View

The tower sticks out from any block.
CN Tower From BelowCN Tower From Below
CN Tower From Below

Almost goes on forever.
CN TowerCN Tower
CN Tower

On a zen-like calm before any freakout.
View of Toronto From the TowerView of Toronto From the Tower
View of Toronto From the Tower

Toronto is a beautiful city.
The Open Air Viewing AreaThe Open Air Viewing Area
The Open Air Viewing Area

Notice my grip on the rail.
Glass FloorGlass Floor
Glass Floor

Tony is fearless.
Tony's FeetTony's Feet
Tony's Feet

Tony showing me what it looks like as you look down.
One Foot on the FloorOne Foot on the Floor
One Foot on the Floor

This is a baby step.
Port Hole View Port Hole View
Port Hole View

The Skypod is higher than the regular observation deck at 1,465 feet.
Sky PodSky Pod
Sky Pod

I am calm...really...we're only 1,465 friggin feet up in the air!


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb