Final Feed My Soul Food Drive in my hometown! Thunder Bay, Ontario!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
August 15th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mark and Dee Morning ShowMark and Dee Morning ShowMark and Dee Morning Show

Mark and Dee were LIVE on the air on Rock 94 at Performance Kia in Thunder Bay! Larry and Volkar from the RFDA and General Manager of Performance Kia Bruno Niederer!
Today was the FINAL Feed My Soul Food Drive at Performance Kia in my hometown of Thunder Bay - Bruno Niederer and the staff at Kia made an amazing effort all day to bring in donations! I was back at work on my radio station at Rock 94 - Dougall Media from 6am with my co-host Mark Tannahill. Together we did our morning show until 10am. I then continued on with my mid-day show until 2pm and then did a remote from 2-6pm. 12 hours later we raised $10,040.00!!!!! and collected more than 2000 food items for the Regional Food Distribution Association! What an ending to an amazing 2 week trip! The radio remote definitely made the difference and all of Bruno's efforts! He was on the phone all day calling businesses!! Individuals stopped by and donated money and food even after the big load was taken away!! The food just kept pouring in as we packed up our radio gear! At the very end..a very unkempt man with a back pack walked in. We didn't know what to expect he didn't say much and opened his bag. He had cans of food to donate. We all thought the same thing. A man who himself who didn't have much contributed (even more than some with obvious better fortune) gave from the heart for the cause. It was very touching. It really opened up our eyes. People came in to fill ballots to win season passes for our local hockey and soccer teams...but some didn't even care about that they just wanted to be a part of it. Many gave me thanks for doing what I did but in all honesty without Kia International and Kia Canada International NONE of this would be possible. Not only did you allow me and my friends to spend two weeks seeing a big part of this country you allowed us to peer into the hearts of Canadians and see how truly good our 'souls' are. From big metropolitian cities to smaller towns we met the most amazing people from food bank volunteers to Kia employees...ALL of which showed us much love and kindness. We have many memories and stories that will last us for the rest of our lives thanks to everyone at Kia. I truly thank you all from the warm welcoming at Headquarters in Mississauga to here in my hometown of Thunder Bay.
Jen and DeeJen and DeeJen and Dee

Jen one of my friends that came on my trip shared fun stories on the air with me!
Drive Change Day will always be a reminder to me to not sit back and let 'the other guy' make a difference. WE all need to be 'the other guy'. Like I said to all of you in Mississauga I am now a proud owner of a Kia and will forever be. Sincerely, Dee Jaroway.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

First tally....First tally....
First tally....

The total actually came to $10,040.00 but this is what we had when the media came to the dealership! Volkar Kromm from the RFDA, General Manager of Performance Kia - Thunder Bay and Dee


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb