Ottawa Museum review


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post


So instead of spending all my time partying and recovering I chose to also take some pictures and learn a little at the various museums in the city of Ottawa. It's kinda funny how much more likely you are to visit a museum in someone else backyard than you are to visit one in your own. I haven't been to the Glenbow in 15 years...anyway.

The Museums are ranked bellow I mean below:


4) Scence and Nature: I am not big into animals unless I am eating them, this museum was a huge collection of preserved animals and some fossils. My favourite section was the nature photography display, a close second was the fossil display. The had some fantastic shots of animals, my favourite was of gophers visiting a grave kinda eerie, but cool. I might eventually figure out how to upload photos and put it in to share. The other really interesting exhibit was the skeleton of a prehistoric turtle it was the size of pontiac sunfire I didn't know they came that big and I was in awe for a good 8 seconds. Overall not my cup of tea , and lacking in size as most of the museum was under renovation. I'd recommend this only to those who are interested specifically in the subject matter.

3) Civilizations: A phone book for Canadian historical figures, this museum by far had the most to offer in terms of content and size. There was much to see and I felt very well prepared having recently watched "Canada a Peoples History". The museum contained basically, a 19th century town, a who's who in Canada's past, an aboriginal exhibit and a bit of ancient egypt. Though the Who's who section was poorly presented I found it the most interesting, Tommy Douglas, Trudeau all those guys with lots of interesting info. but it was all posters. The frontier town was interesting, had a bunch of buildings such as a grain office and all the original grain contacts huge pallet of them and a union house, they were all entertaining but I would of preferred a heritage park tour of old moved buildings instead of simulations, none the less i enjoyed that section. The aboriginal section was kinda cool lots of west coast totem poles some long houses, interesting stuff I was hoping to find inspiration for my totem bear but forgot to take pictures. The Egypt stuff was alright, I am just not into it though. Overall good museum would of been number one had they done a better job of showcasing the important figures.

2) Science and Technology Museum: So much to see, I always amazed to see how many things we Canadians have invented as a nation of few we can definitely hold our in the scientific world. Lots to see here boats, space, telecom, video data storage everything. They had hundreds of small scale hand built boats which were absolutely beautiful and very detailed. My only real complaints were, the amount of children running wild and the lack of technical details you know it was a little too dumbed down. The telephone display was the most interesting, i enjoyed the rotary dialer with the visual pbx, quit snickering I'm a nerd ok! Overall a great place to visit for nerds like me.

So right now I am totally falling asleep in a second cup in the montreal train station, travel is tiring geez

1)The war museum, I love war history and this museum really brought the material to life you could taste the hardship, smell the gun smoke almost. The museum fascinating architecturally it has a living roof and a creepy sort of post modern feel to it, which especially evident in the statue gallery, it was a small area between the main museum and the vehicle display, the tormented and sad marble statues in this dark naturally lit corridor was really cool. The main museum went all the way from the explorers through to modern peace keepers, they had live trench displays and even uniforms to try on. The vehicle area was also neat they had about 500 items on display, tanks sure are heavy I can't lift them to save my soul. A must visit in my books, well presented and fascinating material.

Till we Chat again,
Jimmy


Additional photos below
Photos: 126, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb