Day 60!!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » North Bay
August 28th 2007
Published: September 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 60!!!

Tuesday, 28 August 2007

Today marks day #60 of the Super60 Cycle Tour. It’s almost impossible to comprehend that I’ve accomplished more or less what I’d planned to do ‘way back last fall. I realize that on many days I fell somewhat “short” of the daily goal, and I do plan to rectify that on our return - it should be easy enough to put in a few more cycling days around Ottawa to fill in the gaps. Meanwhile we are both eager to get home, check our bills, etc.,etc. (How mundane!) Actually, if the weather was cooperating (and it usually does NOT by this time in Ontario) I could easily keep on going. But of course, I’ve got the easy job - riding the bicycle or walking and getting picked up by Bob and Panna at the end of my day.

So I wanted today to be something memorable, and it was. Bob had wanted to look up an old friend of his who now lives in a town called Powassan, which is a bit south of North Bay. There seemed to be a sort of circle route which began at a town called Trout Creek, which is a bit south of Powassan. From there one goes west for about 27 kilometres, then north for 5 kilometres, then back east about 30 kilometres, to Powassan, and that makes for a nice 60-kilometre trip. I figured the 5+ hours it would take for me to complete the circuit (alllowing time for lunch and snacks) would be adequate for Bob to get Panna some exercise (there is a conservation area and also a provincial park nearby), then he could go spend some time with Lance, his friend, whom he has not seen in about 30 years.

It was an interesting trip for me. It was probably just my perception of things, but I seemed to be getting more in the way of long descents and not so many long climbs, which suited me just fine. OK, there were some long steep hills towards the end, and I did have to walk parts of a few of those hills, but they seemed to be totally unrelated to the hills I’d gone down 30-40 km earlier. I had the unforgettable experience of seeing a deer stopped in the middle of the road - sorry, no photos - as did Bob, strangely enough (and I think he DID get a pic). I also rode through a town (village?) called Carr, which happens to be the name of the street I currently live on, but there were no signs indicating the name, so again, you’ll just have to take my word for it (or look at a detailed map!).

Alas, the trip was just shy of 60 kilometres, but I was ready to call it a day by the time I reached the parking lot where Bob and Panna were waiting for me. Now all we have to do is head back to Ottawa (Kanata) tomorrow, and we will essentially have finished the tour.

AMAAAAAZING!!!

By the way, Bob never did get together with his friend. He was in town, but time didn’t allow for a visit of reasonable length (Bob didn’t want to go up to him and say “hi, great to see you after all these years, but I can’t stay and chat, gotta go, bye”), so I guess they’ll just continue to communicate via email, thank goodness for email.

DAY 60: 59.92 km, in 3:48 hours, ave. speed 15.7 km/hr, max. speed 38.3 km/hr


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb