Kate Pace and Beyond


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » North Bay
August 27th 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kate Pace and Beyond

Monday, 27 August 2007

Today I thought I should give Silver another try. I was planning to go on the Kate Pace Trail, which is a 12-kilometre recreational path along the southern portion of North Bay. It’s named after a local gal who was a very good downhill skier - I believe she’s won quite a few races in her time. It’s also part of the Trans Canada Trail system. It’s a very nice trail, and begins very close to our hotel. The only complaint I have about it is that the pathway for cyclists is not as close to the water of the lake as is the pathway for pedestrians - the road is between the two pathways. Otherwise it was very nice to not have to worry about cars & trailers, and it’s especially nice for the folks who live there, and for the more “occasional” cyclist. Of course, it was way too short for me...

It came to an end at a gravel road, so I retraced my steps (tire tracks?) to the previous intersection, where the road was paved. It led to a fairly busy highway, from which one could drive (or cycle) either a major route to Toronto or a more secondary highway heading to “who-knows-where”, one of my favorite destinations this trip. Guess which one I took.

That road was quite pleasant and I passed quite a few entrances to cottage resorts, campgrounds, etc - there was a good-sized lake just to the west of where I was cycling. The bicycle rode as it should, for which I was pleased after the previous time I’d used it (back in Sault Ste Marie, August 17). But I’ll still be taking Blue tomorrow.

DAY 59 (one day to go!): 57.2 km, in 3:23 hours, ave. speed 16.8 km/hr, max. speed
37.3 km/hr



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb