Goin' for a Walk.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Hamilton
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's been awhile since I've used this fun little blog. I guess nothing has really happened in the passed long while that would require me to update it. Well, now there's something to write about.
As most of you know I'll be going on another adventure this year. This time I'll be going on something a bit less crazy compared to India. I'll be heading out to the wonderful British Columbia coast to go on a walk of great distance. (I know most of you know what I'm doing, but I figure I'd type it all out for my records too). I'll be leaving Ontario bound for Vancouver Island where I'll traverse the exterior of the island. I'm not 100% sure of all the things that I'll be doing there, but the main idea is to spend a month walking around the shores of the island until I make it all the way around. One of the activities I would definately like to experience is hiking The West Coast Trail. It's a 75Km hike through "temperate coastal rainforst dominated by old-growth spruce, hemlock, and cedar. The topography ranges from sandy beaches to rocky headlands and wide sandstone ledges. Caves, arches, tidal pools, and waterfalls add variety to the shoreline.". I dunno, I think it sounds pretty nifty. The only problem about it is, I need at least two people to go with me on the hike or chances are, they won't let me onto the trail. I guess I'll just have to wait outside the gates and try to make friends with some hippies or something. 😊 Another of the activities I plan on engaging in is a whole-lotta kayaking. I'll be doing that once I make my way to Tofino. Who know's maybe I'll even learn how to surf! Either way, I'll definately be participating in as many water sports as I can. And you know, I'll try and throw some fishing in there too. I'm sure there would be nothing better than catching a fish and cooking it on an open fire while hanging out on the beach.
Those are just a few things that I'll be doing while I'm out there. Not to mention all the crazy camping I'll be doing. When I'm in regular camp grounds I have a pretty sweet one person tent. I loves it. But when I'm out in the middle of nowhere in the forest and night starts to fall, I'll be moving it all to the trees. I have purchased a bug proof hammock that I'll be rigging high up into the trees so that those pesky meat-eaters on the ground will have to work for their food.
Well I guess that about covers most of what I'll be doing. I'm sure there will be alot more to add as time goes on. My date of departure should be May 20th, so the next time you'll hear from me on this travelblog dealy is when I'm out there doing my thing!
I apologize to all the buddies that I didn't have a chance to see before heading out. You know how things are when you're moving. Hectic hectic hectic. I won't be coming back after my trip, so I've had to spend alot of time working on that too. I'll be moving back to Nelson, BC afterwards. I should be back next winter for a little while before I go off on my next trip.
Anyhoos, I guess that's all I've got to say for now!
I hope my travels go as planned, and if they do, then you'll see me again next winter!
Bye for now!
Wish me luck!

Best regards
-Andy

Advertisement



15th May 2007

We will miss you!
Don't get eaten by a bear or cougar or anything larger than you!
23rd May 2007

i hope that everything is going well and you're having a wonderful time out there somewhere... the greater hamilton area misses you (the people in it do anyways).

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb