Bruce Trail Hike Day 28: Nottawasaga Bluffs Conservation Area to Devil's Glen Country Club


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Collingwood
October 16th 2016
Published: October 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The days are getting shorter as I continue my hike north. Starting driving at 6:20AM and it remained dark almost to the point I reached the head of trail. There was a bit of a hiccup on the drive north as the main rd through Orangeville was shutdown by a large car accident. I routed around through side roads until I got back onto the main rd. I reached my head of trail at 7:45AM and geared up and looked around for the sun but it was blocked by rain clouds.

I started hiking through Nottawasaga Bluffs Conservation area. The trail through the conservation area is both rocky and narrow. Hiking at this time of year is difficult because the trail is covered by leaves so you can't see the actual trail very well. I wandered into the woods a few times without realizing it. The bluffs are not tall so the upward part of this hike was not strenuous but it was slippery so I only escaped injury a few times by luck. Oddly enough the Bruce Trail takes a U shape loop through the conservation area. It than goes through an area that is actually part of a Ski trail for Devil's Glen Country Club. It had started raining at KM 3 and it was raining hard. I put on my rain poncho in time so I wasn't terribly wet. The rain made it slow going though as the trail became mired in mud and puddles. The trail in this area was wider because it is used by cross country skiers. I was hoping to it to 20KM today but the rain was making me exhausted so after consulting my map I cross through the forest to reach Concession Rd 10 and walked back on back roads until my I got to my car.

Today was a hard hike because of the constant rain. Since I couldn't find a dry spot to stop anywhere I did the entire hike without sitting down to rest anywhere which I don't recommend anyone does. Total distance 18KM and 3.5 Hours


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb