Bruce Trail Hike Day 29: Devil's Glen Country Club to 9749 County Road 91, Clearview


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Collingwood
October 23rd 2016
Published: October 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first sub zero day since I early April. It dropped below negative overnight in Singhampton. I took a hoodie and drove north through the darkness. I drove through Singhampton and parked next to a large pile of hay. I walked through the first and reentered the trail. The trail was hard to see because of the leaves. The first part of the hike is a downhill hike through a skiing trail and it was muddy and slippery all the way down. This part of the hike is through Devil's glen Conservation Area and it is a tough hike. The trail is both muddy and has a lot of elevation changes. Because of the slope of several parts and with the mud I had to slide down the hills my butt to make sure I didn't fall down the hills. It was a tough 5KM hike through the park before I exited onto HWY 124.

The next part of the hike is through fields and relatively easy. Note, there is a part of hike that parallels HWY 124. It is incredibly rocky and I honestly couldn't find the trail and just walked in a straight line until I saw the next trail marker. The trail exited onto Concession 10 and I walked north on the road for a few KM debating where to stop and call it a day. I decided to keep going until I find the entranceway back to the trail. I found it when I turned left onto HWY 91 and saw the trail went offroad again. I marked the spot on my map and I would start here next week.

I than turned around and walked back to my car. If anyone looks closely at my route map you noticed that I could have gone through the park again to get back to my car but I looked it over and saw that it was a steep slope back into the park and another steep slope to get back out of the park. So even thought it was 3KM shorter it would have still would have been a lot of trouble and with the mud potentially dangerous. Another note after I exited Devil's Glen Conservation Area I went back to short sleeve because with all the up hill portions I was sweating a lot. It was cold still but I took the opportunity to acclimate myself to the cold. I was getting a weird looks from drivers and other hikers who were bundled up.

Total hike was 17KM and 3 Hours 45 Minutes. I am aiming to finish the Blue Mountain trail soon and than finish the rest of the Bruce Trail early next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb