Meeting my sister-in-law for the first time


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Collingwood
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSC00776DSC00776DSC00776

Karen & I meeting for the first time :)
After our visit with Nat's foster family, we had to back track to Parry Sound, then head towards Owen Sound. I was going to meet my sister-in-law. Karen, she is Gord's ( my ex in Whitehorse,YT) sister. Gord and I were together for 14 yrs, and have been seperated for 15 yrs and I have never met Karen. I was a lil nervous but more tickled lol I have heard stories about Karen from Gord, The late Brothers Gar and John. She lives close to Owen Sound. We got there thinking that we are stopping for coffee lol and heading right to Sault Ste Marie (Soo) LOL They told us that it was a long drive, and there were lots of animals on the road lol and not the fun kind. Nat's ex brother-in-law booked us a room, so we had to call him and change plans. We got him to change the rooms to the next night. We decided to spend the night with Dave & Karen. Fun time, Karen bbqed some venison, farm fresh corn, tomatoes, & Cucs. lol Yummy, I got butter from the corn on my shirt LOL I had to throw it away. I had a great visit with Karen, and we had a few drinks. We had a late night, but Dave (Karen's husband) woke early and cooked us brekky. This stop was one of the highlights of our trip. Thanks Dave & Karen for you hospitality and it was so good to meet you finally!!

We left the farm at 8:15 or so, it was an hour drive to the ferry, we had called them the day before. They told us the first ferry leaves at 9:30. We got there with enough time, so we thought!! When we got inside, he said we have to wait for the 1:30 ferry, the first one left at 8:50!!! Dayum, we could have made it LOL They told us 9:30. So we had a few hours to kill. We used the restroom, Nat got a brochure and she went back in. She asked if we had to make a reservation on the ferry. LOL It said in the brochure, she came and got me and my credit card, she had given me the keys to get back in the car earlier and I put it on the dash lol When I got out, I locked the door and went in. Then I realized I LOCKED the keys in the car AGAIN!!!!hahahahahaha So I went to give Nat the bad news, she was at the counter, the guy was just telling her, "I don't care what the brochure says, you don't need a reservation" lol and "I've worke here and I know " LOL Ok, we didn't need me and my credit card!! So he over heard me telling I've locked the keys in again. He said he prolly have someone here in no time. We only had one call left to AAA so I decided that I had some money over my budget. The man called his friend the mechanic and told him our dilema hesaid he was on a call and be here as soon as possible, he made there within the half hour LOL He had the car opened in less than 10 min. Yeaaaah lol By this time it's 11 AM so we finally could get in the line up for the ferry LOL Yes, we sat in the parking lot for a couple of hrs, I napped. The ferry to Manitoulin Island is 1:45 min or so. Also it saved us 4 hr drive to the Soo.

Dammit!! I can't upload pics, this sucks LOL But I did upload to Windows Live so anyone with hotmail can see all the pics. AND I lost the Badlands videos 😞


UPDATE lol I got to upload pics tonight, dayum thing is working again lol


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

DSC00784DSC00784
DSC00784

LOL Like the old days, look at all the booze bottles,
DSC00786DSC00786
DSC00786

Sorry Karen lol Good pic of you both. Thanks for all your wonderful hospitality!


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb